We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torrey Pines State Reserve

Torrey Pines State Reserve
Coast Highway 101, San Diego, CA 92037
858 755 2063
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$90*
and up
Private San Diego Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #4 of 370 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Although this park is located within San Diego's city limits, it remains one of the wildest landscapes along the Southern California coast, with miles of unspoiled beaches, chaparral, elegant Torrey Pine trees and a lagoon vital to many species of migrating birds.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great opportunity for some wonderful photos of California. Loved walking out over the cliffs looking down over the beaches as well as walking along the shore.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“once a week trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The scenery is amazing . A must see place when you visit San Diego. The hiking trails are very organized and many to choose from. You can make it hard or easy hike. Also at the end you can reward yourselfwith drinks at The Lodge.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kukisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“delightful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This beach reminded me of beaches of my childhood, seaweed around and sand crabs to dig up and explore; just a natural environment. There is parking close by and the walk to the water is short, there are amazing cliffs with delightful hikes and views to take advantage of. Parking was $10 for the day. Clean bathrooms, with outdoor showers, and several lifeguard stands to watch over. It wasn't crowded on a sunny July day - relaxing for sure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank zipda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My favorite beach in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This beach has everything you need in a beach, plenty of parking which they charge for but the money helps keep the beach running. There are restrooms and a shower as well. The beach itself changes with the tides and can get cramped when the tide is in. We typically park near the restrooms, go under the bridge and head north of the inlet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pretty but confusing for a first-timer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've been to San Diego literally dozens of times bit had never been to Torrey Pines before. We had a hard time finding the north lot versus the south parking lot, as they are not clearly marked. We were also surprised that after paying $15 to park, we were not given a map. The trail map on the website isn't the best so we weren't sure if all the trails were close enough to walk to or if we should drive into the park further and park the car by the trail head. We ended up parking at the south beach lot and started walking the steep grade towards the trails. We ended up at the Guy Fleming Trail. It was a nice, easy trail with beautiful views of the beach and the coast. It made us want more but we were getting hungry and decided to go back to the car and eat lunch before driving back into the park and finding another trail to continue hiking. After lunch, we noticed that the rangers closed the park access road to cars. So then our only option was to hike back up the steep grade instead of driving and then walk even further to the other trails. Since we're not in great cardio shape, we decided against it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachesinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines State Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing