We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torrey Pines State Reserve

Torrey Pines State Reserve
Coast Highway 101, San Diego, CA 92037
858 755 2063
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$40*
and up
Ranked #3 of 193 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Beaches, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, State Parks, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Although this park is located within San Diego's city limits, it remains one of the wildest landscapes along the Southern California coast, with miles of unspoiled beaches, chaparral, elegant Torrey Pine trees and a lagoon vital to many species of migrating birds.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“delightful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This beach reminded me of beaches of my childhood, seaweed around and sand crabs to dig up and explore; just a natural environment. There is parking close by and the walk to the water is short, there are amazing cliffs with delightful hikes and views to take advantage of. Parking was $10 for the day. Clean bathrooms, with outdoor showers, and several lifeguard stands to watch over. It wasn't crowded on a sunny July day - relaxing for sure.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,044
    308
    39
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My favorite beach in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This beach has everything you need in a beach, plenty of parking which they charge for but the money helps keep the beach running. There are restrooms and a shower as well. The beach itself changes with the tides and can get cramped when the tide is in. We typically park near the restrooms, go under the bridge and head north of the inlet.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pretty but confusing for a first-timer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've been to San Diego literally dozens of times bit had never been to Torrey Pines before. We had a hard time finding the north lot versus the south parking lot, as they are not clearly marked. We were also surprised that after paying $15 to park, we were not given a map. The trail map on the website isn't the best so we weren't sure if all the trails were close enough to walk to or if we should drive into the park further and park the car by the trail head. We ended up parking at the south beach lot and started walking the steep grade towards the trails. We ended up at the Guy Fleming Trail. It was a nice, easy trail with beautiful views of the beach and the coast. It made us want more but we were getting hungry and decided to go back to the car and eat lunch before driving back into the park and finding another trail to continue hiking. After lunch, we noticed that the rangers closed the park access road to cars. So then our only option was to hike back up the steep grade instead of driving and then walk even further to the other trails. Since we're not in great cardio shape, we decided against it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed this beautiful hike! We didn't have time to do the full hike, but we spent an hour hiking to the Red Butt area (great views), then took the beach hike down.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice hiking and beach -- beach staff a bit snobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to Torrey Pines State Reserve on the 4th of July. They double the parking charge for holidays (which is not posted anywhere except the payment booth) and every interaction we saw between paid staff and visitors at or near the beach was as if the staff were doing the visitors a favor. We also saw them being condescending and overly vigilant with people who weren't doing anything against park rules.
On the plus side, the rangers at the visitor center were awesome. The hiking and views are great. The beach is great and the volunteers in the park were fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines State Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrey Pines State Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.