We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite beach in San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torrey Pines State Reserve

Torrey Pines State Reserve
Coast Highway 101, San Diego, CA 92037
858 755 2063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 225 attractions in San Diego
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Beaches, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Hiking Trails, State Parks
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Although this park is located within San Diego's city limits, it remains one of the wildest landscapes along the Southern California coast, with miles of unspoiled beaches, chaparral, elegant Torrey Pine trees and a lagoon vital to many species of migrating birds.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Menifee, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My favorite beach in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This beach has everything you need in a beach, plenty of parking which they charge for but the money helps keep the beach running. There are restrooms and a shower as well. The beach itself changes with the tides and can get cramped when the tide is in. We typically park near the restrooms, go under the bridge and head north of the inlet.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    258
    31
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pretty but confusing for a first-timer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've been to San Diego literally dozens of times bit had never been to Torrey Pines before. We had a hard time finding the north lot versus the south parking lot, as they are not clearly marked. We were also surprised that after paying $15 to park, we were not given a map. The trail map on the website isn't the best so we weren't sure if all the trails were close enough to walk to or if we should drive into the park further and park the car by the trail head. We ended up parking at the south beach lot and started walking the steep grade towards the trails. We ended up at the Guy Fleming Trail. It was a nice, easy trail with beautiful views of the beach and the coast. It made us want more but we were getting hungry and decided to go back to the car and eat lunch before driving back into the park and finding another trail to continue hiking. After lunch, we noticed that the rangers closed the park access road to cars. So then our only option was to hike back up the steep grade instead of driving and then walk even further to the other trails. Since we're not in great cardio shape, we decided against it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed this beautiful hike! We didn't have time to do the full hike, but we spent an hour hiking to the Red Butt area (great views), then took the beach hike down.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice hiking and beach -- beach staff a bit snobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to Torrey Pines State Reserve on the 4th of July. They double the parking charge for holidays (which is not posted anywhere except the payment booth) and every interaction we saw between paid staff and visitors at or near the beach was as if the staff were doing the visitors a favor. We also saw them being condescending and overly vigilant with people who weren't doing anything against park rules.
On the plus side, the rangers at the visitor center were awesome. The hiking and views are great. The beach is great and the volunteers in the park were fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Walking & Hiking along the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We go to Torrey Pines for hiking almost every time we go to San Diego. The beach and the cliffs are amazing and the trails afford several magnificent views. There are various trails to enjoy, but this most recent time we stuck to just the Guy Fleming trail as it seemed to be the most stroller-friendly/accessible trail there (also the best for flip-flop wearers!). If you can find parking on the road, that's great. Otherwise, parking within the reserve costs $15 for a day pass.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines State Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrey Pines State Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Torrey Pines State Reserve to your Saves list