We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mint Downtown Thai

Mint Downtown Thai
732 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6935
619-546-8424
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #701 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: G St.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I needed to find a lunch place open at 11 AM due to a conference schedule, and ended up here as a number of places open at 11:30. I found the service friendly and of an average speed. The pad thai with shrimp was solid and freshly prepared. The soup was excellent. The lunch also came with a small spring roll and a small salad. The Thai Iced Coffee was not too sweet, which was nice. The best part was the price: only $8, which makes this the cheapest lunch in San Diego I have had so far (I'm sure there are cheaper places but for a sit down place the $8 is good). The food came out fast and was a good lunch portion size--not too much for a change. I'm not sure how this place would be for dinner, and I have had better Thai, but I found it very adequate for my needs and would recommend it for lunch. The booths were very comfortable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    9
    8
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average Thai, nothing to rave about.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stumbled across this restaurant this past weekend. One nice thing was that this was open considering it was pretty late in the evening (around 8). The service was very friendly and attentive. Many of the dishes on the menu sounded appetizing and it was difficult to choose from, so maybe it was just my dish. I don't recall the name, but I had noodles with peanut sauce, broccoli, and carrots. The peanut sauce seemed a little too thick. My colleague had chicken satay and loved it. The friend bananas were also good. If time permitted, I would have gone back to give this place another try. I also noticed that there were several Thai food places in the area--I wonder who their competition is...

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The food here is so good, and we've been to Tailand several times. The green curry and the "som tham" are to die for. Try the peanut sauce, too. Yum.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Great food at a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I order from her when I went thai delivered to my house. Delivery takes about an hour-so order well in advance-I order through eat24hours.com. They have a good menu, and I am pleased with whatever I order. I recommend the yellow curry!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Grabbed food to go, was very pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Saw a special price on line so I stopped by will downtown and ordered 2 entrees to go. Have to say the hostess was pleasant and helpful. The food came out quickly and was still warm when I arrived home. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint Downtown Thai also viewed

 

Been to Mint Downtown Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mint Downtown Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.