We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cuisine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Roy's San Diego Waterfront
333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
+1 619-239-7697
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's San Diego Waterfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #185 of 3,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 1st Avenue
Transit: MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great food, great staff, superb selections. The wait staff is very knowledgeable & attentive. I highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    125
    46
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Hint-- you can't beat the bar view and the locals....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Here is a suggestion, sit on the backside of the bar, have some cocktails, order the appetizer menu, (especially the ribs...a meal in themselves). You will get away inexpensively and might strike up a conversation with any of the large yacht owners who frequent the place. Tales of the seafaring wealthy set abound.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoolcraft, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Roy's San Diego Waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

For fine dining, definitely worth a visit for at least one evening meal. If you sit outside, bring a sweater or jacket. Good service and excellent menu. Very accommodating. Excellent quality.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expansive view and menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautiful location overlooking the bay. We enjoyed fresh sushi. The ahi melted in my mouth and the cocktails were strong

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have eaten at several Roys restaurants and this one was quite average. I ordered the seafood rissotto for $35 and the portion wasn't much more than you would expect for an appetizer and lacked any seasoning. My partner did not want seafood or red meat but there was NO chicken on the menu, he ended up ordering a chicken breast with rice that was on the kids menu, it was average at best as well. Unfortunate as the location is so beautiful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's San Diego Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to Roy's San Diego Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's San Diego Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.