We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expansive view and menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Roy's San Diego Waterfront
333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
+1 619-239-7697
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's San Diego Waterfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #174 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 1st Avenue
Transit: MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Alpharetta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expansive view and menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautiful location overlooking the bay. We enjoyed fresh sushi. The ahi melted in my mouth and the cocktails were strong

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    100
    37
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have eaten at several Roys restaurants and this one was quite average. I ordered the seafood rissotto for $35 and the portion wasn't much more than you would expect for an appetizer and lacked any seasoning. My partner did not want seafood or red meat but there was NO chicken on the menu, he ended up ordering a chicken breast with rice that was on the kids menu, it was average at best as well. Unfortunate as the location is so beautiful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've eaten at Roy's at the Pebble Beach resort and one on Kauai. We've never been disappointed in the food or service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ROY'S - Bet You Can't Eat @ Just One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Roy Yamaguchi's food is always Unique a Delicious.....Excellent Service.....Attentive Staff.....Have been to two of his restaurants in Hawaii....(Hawaii Kai & Waikoloa).....We just keep Coming Back whenever the Opportunity arises......Wish we had one in Canada

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Always great service and seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The outdoor dining this time of year in San Diego is very nice near the marina.The sushi was good but pricey.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's San Diego Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to Roy's San Diego Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's San Diego Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.