We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great service and seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's San Diego Waterfront

Roy's San Diego Waterfront
333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
+1 619-239-7697
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's San Diego Waterfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #185 of 3,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 1st Avenue
Transit: MTS Trolley stop across the street enar the Convention Center & Marriott Hotel & Marina
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Always great service and seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The outdoor dining this time of year in San Diego is very nice near the marina.The sushi was good but pricey.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    124
    46
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great meal at Roy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've been to many of the Hawaii Roy's and this Roy's is as good as or better than the HI places. We had the fish combination and it was fantastic - the fish was cooked to perfection. Service was great and the marina views were terrific. The price was fair for top-notch cuisine - figure $100 a head with wine and tip. I highly recommend Roy's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was in San Diego on business and ate at Roy's the first night. If you're not familiar with the location, it was difficult to find via a GPS (it is actually behind the Marriott, so use the Marriott parking lot and walk around back to the big round building). The food was very good - I had the Macadamia Nut Mahi Mahi and my associate had the scallops. The wine selection was also good and priced typically. I thought the entrees were a little pricy, but I'm from the Midwest and not used to California prices. I was a little disapointed that it took a long time to get our bottle of wine, and then the entrees showed up 5 minutes later. The service was excellent intially, but as the restaurant filled up, no one came around to refill the wine glasses. It probably didn't help that 5 tables in a row were seated in our waitress's section. 2 entrees + $32 bottle of wine = $97 bill (tip not included).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's OK, but there are better places in the area.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The food was just OK. The view was nonexistent. There are better, less expensive places that have a lot more to offer. Find one of them and experience The city!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best sushi I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband has eaten here several times on business trips and said we had to check it out. I'm sorry we didn't make it back and only are there once on this trip. It was outstanding! I eat sushi quite often. I have had it in several cities in the US and when I have been in London. This was absolutely the best sushi I have ever had! I did the sashimi sampler and the lobster roll. They had gluten free soy which made me very happy. My dinner was so amazing I don't even remember what my husband had or other people at our table. It was that good. I do remember that everyone was very happy with their meals. And all I keep thinking about is how outstanding the sushi was. It was really that good! This will be on the list when we return to San Diego.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's San Diego Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to Roy's San Diego Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's San Diego Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.