We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Little Place for Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fig Tree Cafe

Fig Tree Cafe
5119 Cass Street, San Diego, CA 92109
858-274-2233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 4,099 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Californian, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
East Greenbush, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Nice Little Place for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We tried the Fig Tree on our last morning in San Diego, unfortunately, because it was one of our best breakfasts on our recent trip. Really good coffee, delicious fresh squeezed orange juice, and the food was very good and plentiful. Service was good, too, if a bit on the slow side.

The atmosphere was great, as well - as another poster said, you do feel as though you are in a tree house in someone's back yard. We will definitely be back on our next visit to San Diego/Pacific Beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Dog-Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Mainly outdoor patio seating (there are a few tables inside). Service is great and waiters give you the attention you deserve. The entree's were fairly priced ($8-12) for breakfast. The food was cooked well, although my omelet was not as hot as I wanted because they bring out your table's order all at once. Ambiance is great with the covered patio and shade, but it looks like they need to clean the dust off a little bit and trim the bushes. Great for brunch or a date.
One great feature is that they allow dogs. They even bring out a bowl of water for your pup if you request it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place, good tender ribs and excellent asparagus risotto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had dinner here (one of University Ave) during our stay in San Diego. Great place. Excellent service provided by a nice Italian lady from Rome. Appetizers were a roasted beet salad with goat cheese + mixed greens + scallions and a Vegan Napoleon (artichoke + red bell pepper + portobello + eggplant) I had delicious slow cooked ribs in its own gravy/sauce. My girlfriend had very tasty beef tenderloin medaillons with portabella and asparagus risotto. Fine and diverse wine menu too. Only one tiny footnote: no alcohol outside. But no worries, they have a nice small patio-like place with 3 tables where you sit sort of outside (it's open/no windows) and can drink all the wine you want :) Absolutely worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“$5 breakfast special!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

You can't beat this for quality, quantity and price. Monday through Friday breakfast specials, which change daily, are probably the best value in all of San Diego. There are currently three locations around town and I recommend them all. The specials usually are some type of egg dish, with delicious rosemary potatoes and your choice of toast. They also have a nice selection of breakfast choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eat under the trees and walk/ride from the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The staff is very friendly and easy to talk to. The food is delicious and the portions are large. If you want to save money, try splitting something. There is even a taster for caffiene afficianados. Try a 4 oz. sample of latte, mocha and Mexican moca. Gluten-free, veggie, seafood, carnivor, no problem. Ride your bike along the beach to Law Street, then meander your way up to Tourmaline and Cass. It's shady, outdoors and feel almost like you're in a treehouse.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fig Tree Cafe also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Fig Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fig Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.