We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt more like a marriott than courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   595 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #152 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Alta Loma, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Felt more like a marriott than courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

With the exception of no fruit flavored water the the lobby this felt more like a Marriott than a courtyard! Smooth check in, beautiful clean room! They have free computers with printers in the lobby and this was helpful to go online and get more info about our next destination! The parking fee per day is steep but unfortunately seems standard for SD area hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear kimlh,

We are very excited to receive your excellent review on our San Diego hotel! We are very flattered by your wonderful compliments. Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Best Regards,
John Blem, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    158
    87
    23
    22
See reviews for
129
66
38
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed with my husband and two children for a trip that combined leisure and business. We arrived at 9pm to check-in and the lobby was full of guests socializing. This hotel seems popular for children's sports teams to stay and they were all up and having drinks and snacks at 9pm. The rooms were clean and modern. Curiously, the cabinet next to the TV was at an angle and looked like it was built that way. The room included a refrigerator and coffee maker but the coffee pitcher was missing. The floor we were on was relatively quiet unlike the lobby. The cafe in the lobby was convenient to buy breakfast with good hot and continental selections, and there was free coffee in the lobby each morning. I took a cab to the convention center (the ride cost $22) for a meeting. The location was not too far from Sea World (less than 10 minutes) which was the highlight of our trip. Although other customers complained about the $16 parking fee each day, I could see why they charged it because it would discourage nonguest use of the space the hotel guests needed. I worried we wouldn't get a space each night and sometimes got the very last space.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear woollly1dog,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent trip to the San Diego area. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We appreciate you taking the time to complete the review on our property and hope that you and your family will choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Regards,
John Blem, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Thoroughly comfortable hotel, great amenities like a mini-fridge, comfortable bed and pillows, very spacious, and an around-the-clock, very attentive staff. I'd definitely stay here again. If I had any complaints, it'd be that the parking was too expensive ($16 a day is highway robbery) and the bistro, although very tasty, was a bit on the expensive side, especially since there are no other budget restaurants or grocery stores on that side of Hotel Circle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear annaaltheide,

We are so happy to hear that you were thoroughly comfortable and enjoyed your recent experience with us. It is always our pleasure to be at your service around the clock to ensure that you are taken care of every minute of the day and night. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate your time in completing the review.

Best,
John Blem, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

In May, my husband booked a room over the phone at the Courtyard by Marriott Mission Valley for July 2011. When he called the hotel a few weeks before our intended arrival, they had already charged us for $154.00 for one night in June! Apparently, the hotel staff had inputed "June 2011" instead of "July 2011" when we made the phone reservation. My husband explained that they had gotten the date wrong and we would not be traveling until July, but they would not refund any of our $154! He spoke to Marriott's corporate office, the accountant at the Mission Valley location, and the hotel Manager, Mr. Jim Blem. Mr. Blem refused to refund any money even though his hotel had made the mistake! He gave my husband the excuse that they were sold out for a conference that evening so it was his bad luck. After talking to Mr. Blem, we called back to Marriott's corporate customer service and they admitted their mistake but were only willing to refund us less than 1/2 of our money - $70. My husband travels for work all the time and will never stay in a Marriott property again. I can't believe they stay in business with such disappointing customer service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Close to nearby attractions, less than 15 minutes away from Sea World and the Zoo. Our room was clean and comfy for 2 adults and 2 kids. Like the other reviews, the $16 parking fee per night is no fun, but we were well aware of it before our arrival, so no surprises there. The pool/hot tub is great and the lounge chairs are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear 4u2travelanywhere,

Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your time in completing the review on our property. Please know that our parking fee is standard throughout all of the area's brand hotels. We hope you'll be back again soon to lounge by the pool and enjoy this gorgeous summer weather!

Best,
John Blem, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband, granddaughter and I stayed here for 5 nights with a Road Scholar Intergenerational Program and enjoyed it very much. Our room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby had a cafe area and computers with free internet access. The pool and hot tub area was especially attractive and comfortable with a number of padded seats as well as the usual loungers and lots of options for sitting in the shade as well as sun.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear AngieKS,

We appreciate your excellent review and ratings on your recent 5 night experience at our hotel. Thank you for all of your great comments on our accommodations, amenities and customer service. We hope you and your husband will be bringing your granddaughter back to stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
John Blem, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Only stayed one night for business travel. Hotel looks old on outside but I found the rooms to be comfortable, clean, and updated. Quick drive to a mall with lots of shopping and dining choices. Great access to area freeways and quick drive to the airport. The lobby was updated and features a nice place to grab coffee in the morning and drink later in the day. Downside to the hotel is parking and parking fee $16/day-which is typical for hotels in the area. Parking doesn't feel very secure but no incidence to my car. I will stay at this property when I return to the area

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear StephanieRose,

Thank you for the great review of our San Diego hotel. We're pleased to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed our accommodations and convenient location. We appreciate your patronage and are delighted that you will be returning to stay with us on your next visit to the San Diego/Mission Valley area.

Regards,
John Blem, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle

Address: 595 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plugged in-in every way. The brand new Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle in San Diego, California is where comfortable hotel accommodations and a sophisticated vibe combine in unexpected ways. This new hotel features inspired food at The Bistro, a Starbucks espresso bar, and easy-to-use technology in your room, in the lobby or really anywhere you want to go. Courtyard San Diego is just minutes from Downtown San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter, the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld and the world famous San Diego Zoo. It is also centrally located to the extensive San Diego business parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Diego
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.