We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly satisfied, a must go in San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Hai

Bali Hai
2230 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
619-222-1181
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #186 of 3,981 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Scott or Rosecrans
Description: Exotic Pacific dining on an enchanted tiki island.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfectly satisfied, a must go in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have been to Bali Hai tonight and been very, very pleased with the restaurant. First of all the view is just great with the skyline of San Diego right on the opposite. The design of the restaurant is very nice too, with great decor, which is at no place overdone. This one was a rare perl throughout our travel through the West Coast. The food was very good. Here you get actual cooking and very interesting mix of flavours. Prices were more tham fair for this kind of quality (main course in the area of $20-24). Service was very friendly as well. Overall for me this is a must go in San Diego!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    131
    94
    36
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Views make this a great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Outstanding views of San Diego, Miramar (top gun), and the harbor. Food is good, not fantastic, a bit pricey. But the views are excellent. I would return for sure

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I went here purely to purchase some Tiki Mugs for My husband who was back home in Australia. I was blown away, the restaurant is so beautifully done. I didn't eat here as it was even open this early in the morning, but I sure would have loved to. The view is gorgeous and the attention to detailwas amazing. The lovely lady went out of her way to get me the mugs and other collectors bits and pieces i needed. Fabulous place. One day I will be back with hubby for a special dinner. Check it out if you get the chance.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pricey, but special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a very special restaurant in a beautiful place. It is quite expensive with everything priced separately, but for a special occasion or a once-in-a-while, it is perfect. Be sure to ask for a window table when you make your reservation (can't ask online!). If you can go when there's a full moon, the view will make you cry, it is so beautiful. Our meals were fabulous, like always. I think years ago they included a salad, but now that is extra. The sides are enough to share so that helps. Noise from a gathering downstairs was a small problem. The restaurant has been updated. The view of harbor seals, boats, ships, helicopters, etc. is constantly changing in the harbor so it is like constant entertainment. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

As others have mentioned, the view is spectacular. The Bali Hai features one of best remaining examples of Hawaiian Tiki decor in Southern California.

Sunday brunch ($35) was very popular. Guests were dressed up, which does not always happen in SD. There were many cuisine alternatives, more than enough to satisfy any preference. Expensive, but worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Hai also viewed

 

Been to Bali Hai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Hai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.