We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Hadas Grill

Las Hadas Grill
558 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6905
619-232-1720
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #354 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We passed by here when la puerta next to it had a waiting time, r we glad we did! This was Mexican food at its best. They offered a happy hour also for beers and certain foods which is good even though we chose other items. The food was so tasty and plentiful, I highly recommend the beef skillet fajita it was completely gorgeous. Service was good yet not too pushy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stopped by Las Hadas around 5 pm on a Sunday night. The place was a bit loud as we caught the tail-end of the football game, but things seemed to calm down as the game concluded. The hostess and our server were both prompt and friendly. We received some corn fritters as a complimentary appetizer, and they were pretty tasty. We also had the guacamole, which was a bit bland for our tastes. For our entrees, we had fish tacos and the special mahi mahi fajitas. Both meals were extremely tasty and plentiful. The sauce on the fish tacos was especially great, as was the grilled flavor of the mahi mahi. I had the sangria with the pomegranate liqueuer added, but felt like the pom was overkill. Still, both food and service were great, and we would return to Las Hadas.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“you have to try the Carne Asacia Fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What an amazing value! We arrived during happy hour and ordered the Carne Asacia Fries (house specialty) and Steak & chicken skewers. The portions were way more than we can handle (and I usually can handle a lot - check out the pictures). Food was awesome. The best restaurant experience we had on our California vacation this year. My wife does not normally care for Mexican food, but she said this is the first time she actually enjoyed it. Super value not to be missed, and the prices were extremely reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Family Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

To say that the Las Hadas Grill is oriented toward customer service is a huge understatement. It is more appropriate to say that the entire business model of the restaurant is customer service.

We went looking for another restaurant in the Gaslamp District. Much to my chagrin - the other restaurant that I had fastidiously researched was a bar and we could not take our 2.5 year old. So we walked a bit further and bumped into Las Hadas. We were greeted at the door with a very friendly statement of "We are a family friendly place that will make certain you are well taken care of." This statement was true with a capital "T."

The food was really nice. A bit of pan-Latin American fare with a mix of flavors and food stuffs. The server was very attentive and amazingly mindful of our daughter and her need for "mac and cheese" ASAP. You must have a plate of the guacamole (although it requires a bit more salt to taste at the table).

At one point in our dining experience, the owner came by and engaged in a very friendly conversation with my father-in-law about college football. He is a young, very affable man with a sharp wit and a kind demeanor. To be honest, he made the whole dining experience. He was just so nice and polite that it was hard not to want to come back for another enjoyable dinner.

We will definitely be back. The food is good - but the service and general atmosphere (sans a sound system that is a bit too loud for a 2 year old) are fantastic!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best Taco Tuesday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Las Hadas has a really great Taco Tuesday. They have $2 tacos, beers, and margaritas!! The steak tacos are the best because they are big strips of perfectly marinated steak!! They also offer chicken, carnitas, and shrimp and lobster tacos. The bar always has a really great atmosphere and people are always having a good time! The staff is really nice and they treat you like friends. It is always a good time and I love to come with my friends every tuesday!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Hadas Grill also viewed

 

Been to Las Hadas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Hadas Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.