We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Hadas Grill

Las Hadas Grill
558 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6905
619-232-1720
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #385 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great Family Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

To say that the Las Hadas Grill is oriented toward customer service is a huge understatement. It is more appropriate to say that the entire business model of the restaurant is customer service.

We went looking for another restaurant in the Gaslamp District. Much to my chagrin - the other restaurant that I had fastidiously researched was a bar and we could not take our 2.5 year old. So we walked a bit further and bumped into Las Hadas. We were greeted at the door with a very friendly statement of "We are a family friendly place that will make certain you are well taken care of." This statement was true with a capital "T."

The food was really nice. A bit of pan-Latin American fare with a mix of flavors and food stuffs. The server was very attentive and amazingly mindful of our daughter and her need for "mac and cheese" ASAP. You must have a plate of the guacamole (although it requires a bit more salt to taste at the table).

At one point in our dining experience, the owner came by and engaged in a very friendly conversation with my father-in-law about college football. He is a young, very affable man with a sharp wit and a kind demeanor. To be honest, he made the whole dining experience. He was just so nice and polite that it was hard not to want to come back for another enjoyable dinner.

We will definitely be back. The food is good - but the service and general atmosphere (sans a sound system that is a bit too loud for a 2 year old) are fantastic!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best Taco Tuesday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Las Hadas has a really great Taco Tuesday. They have $2 tacos, beers, and margaritas!! The steak tacos are the best because they are big strips of perfectly marinated steak!! They also offer chicken, carnitas, and shrimp and lobster tacos. The bar always has a really great atmosphere and people are always having a good time! The staff is really nice and they treat you like friends. It is always a good time and I love to come with my friends every tuesday!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood NJ
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice Find - In the Middle of the Block”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our visit was for brunch. We all focused on the breakfast items - namely omelettes. There was not one complaint. Omelettes, regardless of the type, were cooked to perfection and were plenty - but not overly - stuffed. As a bonus, there were free, and it seemed, unlimited mimosas for all. Great food, great service - highy recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Mexican at a Fair Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Gaslamp District in San Diego can be a bit pricey and the food doesn't always meet expectations. Our concierge at the U.S. Grant Hotel recommended Las Hadas Grill, a bar/grill a short walk from the hotel. She even called and made a reservation for us at a place although they don't usually accept them.

The service was extremely attentive, friendly and gave enough time to make a decision without leaving us to wonder where he went. Las Hadas could be Mexican Seafood place but they also have ribs, pulled pork with a mexican flair.

I had the Red Sea Enchilada with Carnitas and it was terrific. The sauce was not spicy (our waiter said they don't "spice it up" so that their customers can add more heat if they like) which I appreciated. To me, there's nothing worse than asking about the spice,beng told it's mild only to find my mouth on fire and my meal ruined!

As for price....my enchilada (made with a crepe instead of tortilla) was $12.99....quite reasonable and worth every penny. Try Las Hadas but dinner and drinks (great maggies!) but beware that when the Padres are in town, this place is busy until game time. Come after the game starts and you can get in easily.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quantico, Virginia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Happy hour is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Went here for happy hour and got tacos. They were huge and delish! Got the fish and the carnitas. Margaritas were good and pretty good specials.
Only thing is it was really loud in here. Kinda hard to have a conversation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Hadas Grill also viewed

 

Been to Las Hadas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Hadas Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.