We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Maria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maria Maria
1370 Frazee Rd., San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Phone 619-574-6800 They also have Facebook page.
Oxford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I expected a little more from this place. Staff was indifferent and food was just O.K.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was actually my third tip to Maria Maria. The first two were very nice but this one erased the positive memories of the first two.

My mother was just flew into town and we decided to treat her to lunch as she was a might peckish from her travels. Given our previous experience I thought Maria Maria would have been the perfectc choice. Wow, was I ever mistaken.

We darkened the door just after the lunch crowd left so we were happy with our timing. The server was warm and friendly but our food took entirely to long come. My wife and I went with the soft tacos with me ordering the fish and her choosing the steak. Being there were two each we of course exchanged one. The steak in the taco was so tough that I had to remove it, cut it with a knife and return it to its shell.

As bas as the food was that was not the worst of the experience. As we were concluding our meal, our ears were assaulted by a quite loud argument between to employees. Following, the apparent loser of the argument treated us to a rant of profanity that I have only heard the likes of during an rocket attack in Iraq.

While this restaurant had a great start they seem to have gone the way of relying on their "trendiness" to keep their clientele. How sad. We will not be back.

See you on the trail.
John Eric

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved the food, atmosphere, and music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Food is great, although I wouldn't have minded a larger variety of their specialty entrees. We ordered the braised ribs with blackberry mole and pine nuts, and they were excellent. The meat was juicy and very flavorful! We only had to wait about 20 minutes before being seated at an obviously popular dinner hour. When the band started playing I didn't want to leave. The front door says you will "leave dancing", and that is certainly true. This is a Mexican restaurant, but there is nothing about it that is traditional Mexican (except parts of the menu). The decor is modern and trendy, warm and comfortable. I will definitely return...for the music as well as the food!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Weird Mexican Food-Great L:ive Music!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Maria Maria has an inflated view of their image. For some reason they have a pretentious attitude that they are serving "inspired Mexican cuisine." But their food is just average and kind of weird. Over-salted and over priced. The best thing about this place is the live music in the bar. Just great!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, CA
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Creative dishes and unusual margaritas in an art filled setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We booked the private room at Maria Maria, which is in the center of the restaurant, but you have glass windows and curtains you can use to partition yourself off if you want. There is no extra charge for the private room. The entire restaurant is filled with art chosen by Carlos Santana (he is the owner). The signature entrees include such delicious plates as Braised shortribs in blackberry mole sauce and Tequila shrimp. Check with the waitress for the current list of frozen margaritas. We had the strawberry margarita (unlike any we've had before - it was almost a dessert!) and the Key Lime margarita with crushed graham crackers on the rim. Be sure to top off your dinner with the flan!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Maria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.