We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bencotto Italian Kitchen

Bencotto Italian Kitchen
750 W. Fir Steet, San Diego, CA 92101
6194504786
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bencotto Italian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 4,068 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: India Street/Kettner Blvd.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Celebrated my son's 26th Birthday at Bencotto. I had the crab ravioli-delicious! Everything from appetizers to dessert was tasty. Service was great as well. Parking is tricky, but worth driving around for. I would also suggest making a reservation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    63
    25
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Truly Italian experience with wonderful pasta selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This restaurant is located in the heart of the Little Italy area of San Diego, just a few blocks off of the downtown itself and about five to ten blocks from the waterfront. It is three trolley stops from convention center and the large hotels located there. The restaurant itself has a nice selection of authentic Italian dishes, great pasta and can nicely handle a group of 30-40 folks in an upstairs balcony area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Walked up without a reservation on a Wednesday and found Bencotto's to be busier than we had anticipated. Short wait and we were shown to a nice table and proceeded to review the menu. Our waiter came and was very helpful explaining the specials as well as the base offerings. We both ordered fresh pasta, one with the Alle Noci sauce and the other with Arrabbiata. Both dishes exceeded our expectations as the sauces were amazing and the pasta perfect. Service was perfect, just the right amount of attention. Our only regret is we don’t live in San Diego, otherwise we would be regulars!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL FRESH PASTA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Typical of most city newer restaurants in style, close tables, open, noisy.....but what grand fresh pasta. Of the four dishes we ordered the Squid Ink Pasta with prawns was the winner by a mile. Meatballs, though all freshly ground great meat, just didn't excite. Wine list is excellent, moderate pricing, mostly Italian and there is no problem having a taste of unfamiliar wines until you find one you like.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I made reservations for 2 for 6:30 PM on a Thursday night and we had no problem being seated right away.

Our server was friendly and helpful making recommendations for our meal, but early on seemed to want us to place our order quickly. She kept returning and interrupting as we were enjoying our drinks and conversing before looking at the menu. Once she got the hint that we wanted a little more time, she backed off.

We ordered the Salumi cured meats plate ($14, small) with the Gnocco Fritto as the appetizer, and they were quite good.

For the main course we both ordered the fresh pasta. With the pasta, you get to select from a list of pastas and then get to select from a list of sauces to go on the pasta--custom design your own plate.

We had the penne with Salisiccia sausage in spicy tomato sauce ($14) and the spinach, ricotta, and parmesan ravioli with the Al Formaggi creamy cheese sauce ($17). Both were delicious.

The restaurant has a very small, cramped seating area inside, and other guests and servers were walking past in very close proximity to our table, sometimes even bumping into me as they walked by. With its clean, contemporary design, there's nothing to absorb the sound, so it's quite loud making it difficult to carry on a conversation. In retrospect, it may have been more quiet to sit outside.

All in all, it was a mixed experience. The food was quite good, but the apparent rush to turn the table by the server and the loud, crowded atmosphere of the restaurant detracted from the enjoyment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bencotto Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Bencotto Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bencotto Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.