We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Failed to live up to expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Enoteca Adriano

Enoteca Adriano
4864 Cass Street, San Diego, CA 92109
(858)490-0085
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 4,058 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Failed to live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

After waiting for over 10 minutes for our waitress, I spoke with the hostess who was shocked we hadn't been waited on- especially, since our hotel made the reservation and told them it was our special anniversary celebration dinner. Not a great start. Misto salads were great- that was the highlight of our meal. The Spaghetti and meatballs was just average. The meatballs were quite dense, and I wouldn't say they were awesome or even close to that. My husband enjoyed his capellini with red pepper- spicy. Took forever for refills on our tea- 3 people had to be asked before the hostess finally brought one out (even though we asked for 2/ we didn't get upset bc she was trying to help). They did comp us a tiramisu at the end, which was large and very good. All of the recent reviews made this place sound super awesome- I wouldn't recommend it. Highly understaffed for such a busy place. Also, it gets very loud. Not kid friendly, either- although, our 3 year old did great- she's used to eating out. Overall: thumbs down.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    85
    22
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Went for the day to PB and someone recommended Adriano's. All we have to say is if you're going to San Diego there is no where else you wanna go eat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My mom and husband were both born in Italy so I was hesitant but I looked at the menu and pictures and I felt secure. I went on Mother's Day and had a great dinner with burratta, bruschetta, osso buco,and penne arrabbiata. Everything was great. The penne was super spicy but good. I think for an Italian this is the closet your going to get. I was very satisfied and returned another. Chef and owner is from Calabria Italy. The only problem no high chair for children:( but we survived.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anahola, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in P.B.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Beautiful food served by friendly, knowledgeable staff. Dishes were wonderrful, from apparently autheentic Old World recipes. Sauces were outstanding! Definitely a place that cries out for a quick return visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An unforgettable meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

What an incredible meal! The burrata is absolutely amazing ... Flavorful, fresh, delicious. The sea bass special was divine. The veal was so tender and tasty and the special spicy sausage fettuccine amazing! Then came dessert ... Outstanding! What really made the night was our waiter, Hugo, though. He was so knowledgeable, friendly and fun. We will be back!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Adriano also viewed

 

Been to Enoteca Adriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enoteca Adriano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;