We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little restaurant worth finding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enoteca Adriano

Enoteca Adriano
4864 Cass Street, San Diego, CA 92109
(858)490-0085
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 4,041 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant worth finding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a lovely dinner here on a Friday night, after choosing the restaurant and making reservations based on TripAdvisor recommendations. The food reminded us of a recent trip to Italy, the atmosphere was charming, and the wine list had some very good well-priced selections. One minor quibble: The service was a tad obtrusive, as we were interrupted several times by a waiter who seemed to want to stand at the table and tell us what to order before we'd had a chance to peruse the menu and decide for ourselves. His long-windedness was somewhat uncomfortable, made more so when he corrected the pronunciation of one of our diners. Otherwise, it was well worth the visit, and we will definitely return, as well as recommend to others. If Enoteca Adriano were around the corner instead of across the country, we'd be regulars.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    84
    22
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Culinary Highlight of Our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were in Pacific Beach for two weeks. The college-kid surfer dude hangout of San Diego. Not exactly what a mid-50's couple had expected, but we had a good time regardless.

In the midst of all these hormone-charged, alcohol-infused youngsters, tripping over themselves to get to the next bar, we managed to find a wonderful little Italian restaurant called Enoteca Adriano. It was only 3 blocks from our place, so we didn't expect much, as up to this point we had only seen biker bars, pubs and tattoo parlors. So we were very pleasantly surprised to find a very authentic Italian place with excellent food.

Arthur waited on us, and Sam (manager) came to our table and chatted several times. Arthur spent lots of time asking us questions about what we liked, and then made several recommendations. We started with the burrata (you have to try this) and a bottle of the ripassa. Our mains were papardelle gamberatti and chicken cacciatore - both were excellent. We finished with the creme brulee and tiramisu, then proceeded to waddle back to our place and collapse in contented heaps.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, cozy atmosphere, excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I went there with 2 girlfriends last week and enjoyed the food, service and setting so much that I wanted to go on Tripadivor and share my experience with others; the price for the quality of food served was fair: an entree is between $15 and $20 (worth it for HOMEMADE pasta!). I will definitely go back and recommend this restaurant to my friends :)

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“When you're here, you're family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I were able to sneak in on a Saturday night (make reservations), and had a great time. Our waiter, Ryan, was very helpful and accommodating. The food was delicious, make sure you order the Pope's Pillow for dessert. We had a number of employees stop by our table to ensure we were having a good time and enjoying our food. The chef even made an appearance to ask about our meal.

The place was packed and everyone seemed to be having a good time. It's small, but not claustrophobic. The exposed ceiling gives the place an intimate feel. There's so much activity that the place has a lively feel. The daily specials are painted on the back wall, along with a wine recommendation.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“FINE ITALIAN FOOD IN OFF BEAT PLACE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Enoteca Adriano is a small local, off beat eatery in the Pacific Beach section of San Diego. Easy to find near the Post Office on Cass Street. This mis not a quiet romantic resturant...due to the smal;lness - noise is all about you...however if you're looking for very good Italian food [although limited menu w/no veal] excellent service and a place to dress casual and have fun...then you have found it. Plus you don't have to foight the crods from the Gas Lamp -downtown area. Owner/Chef is on hand even answers the phone during the day! Reservations are highly recommended . Overall wine list, menu offerrings, service and quality of food....a real A-.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Adriano also viewed

 

Been to Enoteca Adriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enoteca Adriano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.