We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Promotable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ebony Inn Motel

Ebony Inn Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ebony Inn Motel
Save
You added Ebony Inn Motel to your Saves list
740 32nd St, San Diego, CA 92102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Texas City, Texas
1 review
“Excellent Service, Promotable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Yes the front desk service (Binu) was really good and was there to solve each of my needs. Wifi password provided and followed me to the room. HBO was free to the room. The room was really nice and provided extra towels for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The front desk that checked me in was very helpful and nice. The room was average, and everything was in working order. The room looked like it was recently renovated. The carpet didn't have much stains on it compared to other motels i stayed at. This is a good place to for a short stay. I would recommend this to people how are traveling for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I found this place for a last minute trip to San Diego rooms were very expensive and lucky for me I found ebony inn motel the price was not shabby given the location! I checked in and my rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. On my next trip I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Don't let the outside fool you the rooms are nice. My room did have roaches they took care of it but how they took care of it I was annoyed. One guy said that I could move back in when my room when it was clean from roaches. On the day of me moving back in my room I had an issue with one of the women working there yelling and telling me that next time I'd better find another MOTEL cause I will not be moving from room to room. The rooms are different. My original room had a great shower head and microwave. My subsitute room had neither of the two. I was staying a week so i needed the microwave. The lady gave me crap for wanted to move back to my orginal room. I will never stay at this Motel again. I would like to think the OTHER indian guy who was very nice to me. Gave the internet password without me even asking. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Simple. Quaint. Cozy. Essential, met or exceeded all of my expectations. The front desk was very accommodating. It's in a perfect place, 5 mins away from downtown San Diego. A perfect night and again simple accommodations. I would recommend it to any ine budget conscious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Found this place because everywhere else was filled for the night. As we headed east on Market, the neighborhood started to get a little sketchy, and when we arrived at the motel, we weren't very comfortable staying there initially. But we were totally wrong! Woman at the front desk was very pleasant during check in. The room was clean, bathroom was clean, and there was complimentary toothpaste and a minty/chocolate PowerBar that was random but delicious. The only downfall really was that the A/C in our room wasn't working 100%, so our room was pretty toasty during the day. But it was much better than expected for a last minute one night stay. Safe and affordable, and super close to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Horrible, like a nightmare. Run! we looked everywhere for a hotel, and everything was taken. So we kept looking further and further away. this place has had good reviews on tripadvisor re so I trusted it. And I went there and it's a total dive hole in the wall. It looks scary. And my kids have to sleep there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ebony Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebony Inn Motel

Address: 740 32nd St, San Diego, CA 92102
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, cozy, budget-friendly motel located within a couple of miles from Downtown San Diego! Nearby attractions (within 3 miles or less) include: San Diego Convention Center, San Diego Airport, Naval Base, Gaslamp, Sea World, San Diego Zoo and Coronado Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ebony Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ebony Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.