We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Rib Rides

Adventure Rib Rides
1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
619-808-2822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 327 Activities in San Diego
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: San Diego's only year round Whale & Dolphin Watching boat charter company. Within the last week, passengers have enjoyed sightings of Humpback Whales, Fin Whales, Gray Whales and Minke Whales plus lots of dolphin offshore San Diego. We will continue to see Humpback and Fin Whales throughout the Spring, and then can begin to see Blue Whales as early as May. So, join us today for the adventure of a lifetime on board a fun, fast RIB boat. Excursions are limited to 6 passengers, making for an intimate on-the-water experience. Our knowledgeable captain will serve as your on board naturalist and guide.Adventure Rib Rides also offers any of our excursions as a private charter including: -Whale & Dolphin Watching -Eco Tour to the Coronado Islands, Mexico -Wildlife and Naval Heritage Tour of San Diego Bay -Coastal Excursions to Mission Bay -Coastal Excursions to La Jolla -Adventure Picnics -Nautical Theme Treasure Hunt -Pirate Treasure Hunt -Land and Sea Adventure Game -Custom Excursions also available
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tracy, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked this tour for myself, my husband, my teenage daughter and her friend. Let me confess that I was really nervous about the size of the boat and the fact that I get seasick on cruise ships. But the entire trip was a blast. Even if we had'nt seen whales or dolpins, the high speed cruise around the harbor and out to sea was worth the price. But the highlight of the trip was the mega pod of common dolphins. Some 800 - 1000 swimming alongside and in front of the boat, leaping out of the water in front of us. It was awe-inspiring. Our guide, Clint Bennet, was awesome too. He took us past the Navy's dolphin training facility and submarine facility. We even went past a sub leaving port. One of the most memorable experiences I have ever had.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    8
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, Iowa
1 review
“No Whales But Still Great Fun. Fantastic Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We are from Iowa, so being on the ocean was a real treat. We did not see whales, but saw the sealions and a pod of dolphins. This was a fun experience for us (2 adult women 53 and 42 and 2 girls 13 and 14.) We all enjoyed it. Yes it would have been great to see some whales, but the dolphins were absolutely wonderful so much fun to watch. they are right there beside you diving in and out of the water, doing flips and having great play time. The captain made the rest of our ride really interesting. He explained about the sea animals so showed us other important sites on the ride. I had recently had a spinal fusion and he showed me how to straddle the little seat and stand when the waves came so that my knees took the brunt of the jars. My back felt good and the ride itself was fun. Hitting those waves and leaving the seat was fun and exciting. They made it a lot of fun and it was a great time even though we saw no whales. Thanks Guys

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely not "wowed"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Only saw 2 dolphins and it was at the end of the trip so we didnt' even spend any time with them. Instead spent time with 1 whale for about 15 minutes. The rest of the 3 hours was spent speeding through choppy water to go 8 miles from shore to where the captain thought there would be some whales. There weren't any. So we spent the rest of the time speeding back through choppy cold water to find the 2 dolphins right at the mouth of the harbor and only had about 5 minutes with them.

No offer of a discount or coupon for future visit.

Horrible. Twice the price of Captain Dave's in Dana Point and not nearly as good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best thing to do in San Diego!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Book this trip NOW! It was one of the most amazing things I have ever experienced, and was the highlight of our trip. The RIB boat itself is a thrill - we were almost 20 miles off the coast of San Diego, and cruising fast over the water. Prior to going on the trip, I was a bit nervous about the size of the boat and worried it would go too fast. Trust me, it was 100% safe, not scary and an absolute thrill. Our captain was excellent, ensuring safety and fun at all times, and providing info for all the sites that we passed.

After about an hour, we came across a mega-pod of dolphins and it was INCREDIBLE! Easily over 2,000 dolphins swimming and leaping into the air all around our boat - it was like something out of movie, and something you can only imagine if you see it in person. So amazing. The dolphins followed us for quite a while, allowing us to take amazing video and pictures. We then decided to head to a different area to try to see a whale, and just as we were about to call it a day, we saw a huge gray whale, about 40 feet long!

Definitely do this adventure when you are in San Diego, no matter your age or adventure level, you will love it. Remember to be patient...seeing wildlife is no guarantee, but the boat ride across the ocean is worth the trip alone.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great way to see sea life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Despite focusing on the horizon for the entire time, we were unlucky enough to see very little sealife -- 2 different types of dolphins, sea lions. We thought we saw a couple of whales in the distance, but they went down and didn't come back up. Disappointing, but the risk you take.

The captain (Klint) was very informative and made the trip fun.

They don't offer a "redo" option like some other whale watching outfits (opportunity to go on another trip if you don't see whales); possibly because their boats hold only a few people.

Of course, that's the great part of these trips. Instead of a boat full of people, fighting for ability to see sealife once spotted, you are already sitting at the best seat in the house (er, boat).

They offer a protection suit -- definitely not fashion forward, but don't be so proud (read: stupid) as to turn it down. It may be warm at the harbor but once you are out on the water with the wind and ocean spray blowing on you, you will definitely wish you had it! It's also useful to protect your camera equipment (wear around your neck and tuck it under the suit). And when you walk off the boat completely dry, you'll be really glad!

We had a problem with getting our reservation initially, and then we had to cancel 2 of our initial 4-people reservation under the 48 hour window. We offered to change to another day when they didn't have a full boat so they weren't sending out 2 partial boats. With all of our coordination issues, they were very accommodating, which we appreciated.

P.S. Don't forget your sunscreen!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Rib Rides also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Rib Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Rib Rides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.