We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pho in Rancho Berndardo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Ca Dao & Grill

Pho Ca Dao & Grill
11808 Rancho Bernardo Rd. #100-110, San Diego, CA 92128
858-451-8820
Improve this listing
Ranked #707 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pho in Rancho Berndardo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

When I served in Viet Nam in 1967 I encountered Pho on the streets of Vung Tau. I thought it was delicious. I recently found this restaurant and gave it a try. While the Pho did not taste the same as I remembered it 46 years ago, it was very good and the portions were huge. It was also a great value. The place was also packed. This is casual dining place. They have beer, I had the Vietnamese brand, but not much else on the alcohol menu. This is a great place to get a filling meal at reasonable price with excellent service and we will return often.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a casual restaurant that serves excellent Vietnamese food. Go for the Pho 'cause their broth is excellent, but you really can't go wrong 'cause everything they serve is delicious & fresh. The staff is quick & the prices are fair for what you get.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Vietnamese Chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We both had noodle bowls and they were good. Lots of crisp fresh vegetables and meat (chicken and beef) which was tender. The Spring Rolls were OK -- nothing special

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The soup that lifts you up...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Each time we go to Pho Ca Dao, we usually order their pho with the rare meat and a side of fresh spring roll. They have generous amount of side aromatic leaves and mung bean sprouts. Some of the servers recognize us already and seat us in our favorite booth (if available). They're very quick in their drink refills especially the water, that you have to stop them in their tracks :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pho done right, served quickly, at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We dined here on a very busy friday evening. The staff was working quickly to seat guests, take orders and get the food out. They are a well oiled machine in this regard. It eas a pleasure to watch.

The menu is extensive, including a $5 children's menu. Most items were $5-$8. Our pho and a mixed grill salad were tasty and the ingedients were fresh.

This is a great "find" in Rancho Bernado.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Ca Dao & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pho Ca Dao & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Ca Dao & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.