We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trolley Tickets
Ranked #23 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location/great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Three of us in the suite. Very roomy and the bed very comfy. Pull out couch was fairly comfortable. The staff is very friendly. The location is great for the Gaslamp area. Pool area is small but we used it along with the fitness area which was small but had a fun view of the street below. I liked the decor and the sliding shoji screen between the living/bedroom areas is a great space saver. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    197
    43
    7
    7
See reviews for
120
168
35
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We had a King Suite with a pak-n-play for our 2.5 year old. The kitchen was awesome. Other reviewers warned it was smaller than expected, but it had a full-size frig, micro, stove, toaster, dishes, etc. Really awesome for eating in the room. We like the layout of the rooms, too. It felt roomy, but had a good-size sofa, two-person dining table, coffee table. The bedroom was great - a little light on the drawers, but not many people unpack, anyway. Bathroom was nice, too. Everything was impeccably clean and the housekeeping staff was awesome. We have rarely been to a hotel where the staff seems so eager to be helpful. We made a request for a foam pillow - it was there in minutes! Other hotels, I'm lucky to get it by that night. We used the laundry facilities regularly, since we're potty training. They were clean and an awesome feature. We also liked being in the Gaslamp district. We were one block off 5th, where all the action is, but that was actually better. We had a dozen restaurants to choose from in a few blocks. And with a 2-yr-old, having options is a good thing. The valet parking was the best I've had at a hotel. Other valet experiences I've had, you had to give the valet a good 15-20 minutes lead time before you actually wanted the car. We would call down on the way to the elevator, and the car was already sitting on the curb every time. It was impressive.

Overall, we loved this hotel, would definitely recommend it, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

This hotel is fairly new. Rooms were very nice and comfortable. There is no restaurant on site, but they do have carry out available that you can take to your room; however, the menu is limited. Staff was very helpful about local attractions, restaurants, etc. Centrally located to things downtown.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Spent a great time at this hotel. In the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, near Petco park, and Convention Center, and walking distance from nearly everything. It is a bit small property, but space is well distributed. We booked a small room, so I don't know how the bigger ones look, anyway, it was, actually, quite comfortable and roomy. Just a little noise from the street, but not a great deal (anyway, if you're looking for a peaceful relax-and-meditation-inner-peace realm, you just don't stay at a Hotel in the Downtown)
Clean and neat bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen, specially carpets and beds, as we are both the allergic kind. Staff was great, always with a smile. My wife isn't very fluent in english, and they don't speak spanish, but really managed to help her in absolutely anything she needed. There's free internet at the lobby, and an ATM, there's also another ATM across the street. Only had valet parking, which seemed to me a little expensive, but was in fact on the average prize range for the area. Breakfast was included, served 6 to 9 on weekdays (7-9 on weekends) and there were a lot of options in the menu. I agree pool is small, in a shadowy area of the building, but we weren't gonna use it anyway. Bar at the lobby looked really good. There's a nice, familiar environment all around that makes you feel comfortable, as if you weren't staying at a Hotel at all. 150% reccomended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We spent 5 nights here and the rooms were clean, the service was fast, and the in-room kitchen allowed us to provide for our child with food allergies by cooking our own food, which also saved us money when we didn't feel like eating out. We had called ahead and asked for a room cleaned without strong chemicals and there was virtually no 'typical hotel' smell when we walked in. The hotel's location provides multiple grocery and supply options within walking distance including CVS, Ralph's supermarket, and Cine mini mart (convenience store). The only parking is valet at $32 per day but you can just call from your room and the car is down there when you get down making it a very convenient option for loading/unloading kids. Anything we asked the front desk for (extra towels, pillows) was delivered within 10 minutes. The front desk and valet personnel were very helpful and would give you a pedestrian map with highlighted directions every time you asked for a specific type of destination close by. The free breakfast was great with ample sitting room and the takeout option was helpful as well. Given the hotel is less than 2 years old I wasn't surprised by the chic decor and fast elevators. The restaurants within walking distance were great as well. Mexican, Indian, Chinese, Italian and American establishments in Gaslamp quarter offer a variety of delicious options including vegetarian. The hotel is a short drive from the 5 freeway for day trips up to Legoland and Los Angeles. It takes 7 minutes to get to the airport and the same for Balboa Park which houses San Diego Zoo and other great museums and activities for kids.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

This Residence Inn was perfect for our trip that started out as a business conference in San Diego, and ended with a vacation tour of CA. The Inn was renovated not long ago and looks nice. It's a 5 minute, 2-block walk from the conference center, or about 15 minutes' walk to Seaport Village. Ask for a map at the front desk. it's a big help finding your way around. The front desk people are always nice. You need your room key to use the elevator. Our room on nearly the top floor was beautifully clean, spacious, quiet, and had a great view looking north towards 5th Avenue. If you can get a high floor room looking west towards the water, that's awesome. The kitchenette is perfect, having a full size refrigerator, lots of counter and cabinet space, a cooking surface, coffee maker, dishwasher, paper towels, plus all the dishes, silverware and cookpots you might need. You can buy groceries at Ralph's, a 15 minute walk, or you can take a bus or taxi to the Trader Joe's farther north. Better yet, take advantage of the hotel's free grocery-stocking service. Check the info sheet in your kitchenette for details or ask at the front desk. There is a small dining table in the kitchen, plus the usual coffee table and desk in the living area. The bathroom door was opaque and on sliding overhead rails, like a barn door. You definitely can't see through it, but if you're very shy it might bother you. What I liked less was the dressing/sink area between the bath and bed --- there's a huge clothes armoire up against the wall and a tall sink/counter cabinet standing between the kitchen and bath area facing the armoire, so that when you're trying to wash up or dress there the other person/people can't get to the bathroom easily. (The Residence Inn in Salinas has the perfect floorplan). The bed was totally comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud.
The free breakfast in the breakfast room on the 2nd floor was tremendous -- tons of choices, lots of seating, nice atmosphere. If something needs to be restocked, just ask, and the food service people will help you.
You won't need or want a car while attending a conference, but there is a parking lot right across the street from the hotel, north on Sixth Avenue. The prices are extremely reasonable there. I think we paid $18 to park from one afternoon through to the next day at noontime or so. A signboard out front has the prices.
We used the kitchenette daily as the Gaslamp restaurants are not only astronomically expensive but also serve nothing but fatty, greasy stuff typical of tourist traps. There is no 'healthy California food" here unless you buy the groceries yourself. By way of comparison, Chicago is far less expensive and the food is worlds better. On our last day in San Diego we went to Balboa Park and found Prado Restaurant, which was fabulous!!! Great food, great service. Well worth the trip out there. Hub Market, a few blocks north of the hotel on 748 Sixth, serves a very decent sandwich, side dish and drink for around $7.50. Freshly made and delicious, this sandwich was far superior to the meal we got at the only vegetarian restaurant listed for this area. Beware the Toscana cafe about a block west of this Residence Inn. They'll serve you about 50 cents worth of spaghetti with a spoonful of tomato sauce for $19.
In sum: the Residence Inn Gaslamp offered extremely clean, comfortable, modern rooms with great service and free breakfast for a reasonable price. The ability to prepare your own meals is a huge money-saving plus. It is also within easy walking distance of the conference center, Seaport Village, and other lovely areas and has both valet parking and a reasonably priced parking lot next door. Next time we're in San Diego for a conference, we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a room in the Gas Lamp district. I have no complaints with the hotel, the rooms are nice and big, the staff is very helpful and is right in the middle of the Gas Lamp.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.