We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice at a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice at a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Having been a member of Marriott rewards for 15+ years, I only stay at Marriott brands. This hotel is a great combination of comfort and convenience with a touch of 'upscale' thrown in. While I don't completely understand the need for an extended stay hotel in the downtown tourist area, I did appreciate their bar with sidewalk seating for a post-drive wind down. And the complementary appetizer (loyalty reward) of homemade chips and onion dip was a nice touch. The free breakfast was standard Marriott, but the staff during breakfast was exceptional. They continually re-stocked food items and paid close attention to keeping tables clean and available.
The only reasons for the 4 stars were the somewhat uncomfortable bed and the $40/day parking charge. Residence Inns should replace all beds with those used at Fairfield Inns. And I'd suggest that hotel guests receive a discounted parking rate vs. the public rate.
That said, it was nice to be able walk to nearby sites and restaurants.

Room Tip: Upper floor with king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Cherif03, We would like to start by saying thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott Family. We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience on trip advisor. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We understand your expectations were not met with the comfort of the bed and parking rates. We apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused during your stay.
We do our best to price ourselves competitively with hotels in the gaslamp area and $40 for overnight valet parking is the average rate. We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Residence Inn San Diego Gaslamp Quarter and hope you revisit our property on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    201
    47
    8
    7
See reviews for
123
172
36
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrightwood, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have stayed at numerous Residence Inn and this is a disappointment. Firstly, $40/night valet parking was a shock (5-star Grand Hyatt/Marriott Marquis both charge $28.) Secondly, the biggest disappointment, the pool, or shall we say it's more like a tub, 15' square tub. There is no spa, as usually can be found in other Residence Inns.

Room was small though cleverly laid out. The problem was the lack of wall plugs next to the bed or the sofa - have to pull out a lamp's plug from behind the bedside cabinet to access the power plug. Maybe it's my problem because I like my phone/journal/book/alarm next to the bed.

Also, the furniture seemed like they have seen better times, else they are not well made as most drawers can only open about 4" and are practically useless. Also, there is no safe in the room.

Breakfast is like other places, no complaints and no surprises. Oh, they don't have the evening socials like most other Residence Inns - they have a restaurant and would rather you patronize that. But there are lots of interesting restaurants around and one probably does not want to eat in anyway.

PS. there is free in-room wifi but it is really slow.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Sunnyellow,
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel on tripadvisor. We appreciate any feedback and are always looking for ways to improve ourselves. There are many complimentary amenities we offer to our guests and the option of a pool is one of them. It is an amenity that is not offered by many other hotels in San Diego’s Gaslamp Quarter and we encourage all of our guest to take advantage. As far as our valet parking rates, we do our best to price ourselves competitively with other hotels in the Gaslamp Quarter and $40 is the average rate for overnight parking. Do take into consideration you will save when staying at our hotel with the complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi, which is not offered at any other hotel in the gaslamp quarter. We understand your expectations were not met with the room size and apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. We are an Urban-Style, custom built Residence Inn and because of our Downtown location, our room types adhere to a smaller design. We do take pride in our location with the option of many restaurants within walking distance. When staying at the Residence Inn San Diego Gaslamp Quarter you have several options of activities right outside our front door. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and invite you to revisit our property on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel was an "interim" hotel for us because my parents had a dog with them. The hotel itself is nice, located very near Petco and lots of shopping and restaurants and within easy walking distance to the metro/trolley.

Not as nice as its sister hotel Marriott in Gaslamp but it allowed pets and served our needs. The staff were very professional and friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Tammir,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter was enjoyable and that your received great service from our staff. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable.
Thank your for your loyalty to the Marriott Family we hope to see you on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a fairly new hotel. The rooms (all suites) are spacious and well equipped. The location in the gaslamp is excellent - many great restaurants within walking distance. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is great - hot food and cold. Overall this hotel is an incredible value for all of the amenities.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I travel often for work and stay ay a lot of Marriott properties including numerous Residence Inn. The San Diego Gas Lamp property is by far the best Residence Inn and one of the best Marriott properties I have stayed at. Even the free breakfast was good!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

My stay was great here with my family! It is a great place to stay with free breakfast included and delicious too!! My housekeeper was so clean with my room. I highly appreciate how Esthela Roman made us feel like as though we were home with all the small details she did to our room! It is a hotel in a great location with so many things to do! The only downside to the hotel is that the parking is expensive but otherwise great place highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
anareyes1011, We truly appreciate you providing tripadvisor with your positive feedback. It is always great to hear when families have a great stay at the San Diego Residence Inn Gaslamp Quarter. Thank you for recognizing Esthela in our housekeeping department, she is one of the reasons we have such a successful hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience with our parking rates. We do our best to compete at an average rate for overnight parking in the downtown/gaslamp quarter. We hope you will come to visit us again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

While the entire staff was friendly and very helpful, the bartender Ashley at the hotel bar BarVie was excellent. She remembered my favorite drink each night. The hotel is in the heart of the Gaslight District and in walking distance of great food, shopping, and sightseeing. I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
MelissaAnne725,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on tripadvisor. It does not surprise me Ashley was able to provide you with a memorable stay. She is truly an example of how we provide service at the Residence Inn San Diego Gaslamp Quarter. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.