We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #35 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel was an "interim" hotel for us because my parents had a dog with them. The hotel itself is nice, located very near Petco and lots of shopping and restaurants and within easy walking distance to the metro/trolley.

Not as nice as its sister hotel Marriott in Gaslamp but it allowed pets and served our needs. The staff were very professional and friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Tammir,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter was enjoyable and that your received great service from our staff. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable.
Thank your for your loyalty to the Marriott Family we hope to see you on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    232
    52
    9
    9
See reviews for
138
191
40
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a fairly new hotel. The rooms (all suites) are spacious and well equipped. The location in the gaslamp is excellent - many great restaurants within walking distance. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast is great - hot food and cold. Overall this hotel is an incredible value for all of the amenities.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I travel often for work and stay ay a lot of Marriott properties including numerous Residence Inn. The San Diego Gas Lamp property is by far the best Residence Inn and one of the best Marriott properties I have stayed at. Even the free breakfast was good!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My stay was great here with my family! It is a great place to stay with free breakfast included and delicious too!! My housekeeper was so clean with my room. I highly appreciate how Esthela Roman made us feel like as though we were home with all the small details she did to our room! It is a hotel in a great location with so many things to do! The only downside to the hotel is that the parking is expensive but otherwise great place highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
anareyes1011, We truly appreciate you providing tripadvisor with your positive feedback. It is always great to hear when families have a great stay at the San Diego Residence Inn Gaslamp Quarter. Thank you for recognizing Esthela in our housekeeping department, she is one of the reasons we have such a successful hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience with our parking rates. We do our best to compete at an average rate for overnight parking in the downtown/gaslamp quarter. We hope you will come to visit us again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

While the entire staff was friendly and very helpful, the bartender Ashley at the hotel bar BarVie was excellent. She remembered my favorite drink each night. The hotel is in the heart of the Gaslight District and in walking distance of great food, shopping, and sightseeing. I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
MelissaAnne725,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on tripadvisor. It does not surprise me Ashley was able to provide you with a memorable stay. She is truly an example of how we provide service at the Residence Inn San Diego Gaslamp Quarter. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had a conference to attend at the Grand Hyatt but could not see paying $350 per night. I checked out this facility and found that it was 7 short blocks to the grand Hyatt or the Marriott Marqui as well as passing the san Diego convention center on the way and at a price of less than 50% of the Hyatt plus I got a great breakfast.

Room Tip: I found that rooms on the north side were best. they tried to get me to "upgrade" to a oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Ralph R, Always a pleasure to hear a first time visit to our property. We have a great hotel in a great location, with the convention center, petco park, and restaurants all within walking distance. There are many reasons you can set our hotel apart from our competitors, our complimentary breakfast is one of the. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I love the customer service but what I enjoyed the most was the great room service . Ive been in other hotels and they have never been this caring and clean. I really liked my housekeeper Esthela she was patient and friendly . I would give this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
mia1023, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience on tripadvisor.
We appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to improve. It is always great to hear recognition on our customer and staff. Esthela in housekeeping is one of our all stars who sets an example of what we stand for. With such a memorable stay, we hope to see you again on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#7 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,924 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#26 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.