We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trolley Tickets
Ranked #24 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Canastota, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This is not your template Residence Inn. The decor is more upscale. The location is perfect if you are a baseball fan and want a safe, fun and clean property that is within easy walking distance of Petco. The hotel is also close to a plethora of bars and restaurants that would appeal to any age group.

The breakfast is traditional Residence Inn eats. The area is well attended by hotel staff. Get there early as you may have a long wait in line after 8:00 am.

You can park in a public lot which is close to the hotel and less cost than the mandatory valet fee at the hotel. I am glad we chose the valet due to sheer convenience. The young valet staff were prompt, friendly and courteous.

Many people would give 5 stars and I would not dispute their opinion. I awarded 4 stars as the rooms are noticeably smaller than Residence Inn properties I frequent in Upstate New York and New England.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara P, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for staying at the Residence Inn San Diego, Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter. We take pride in our hotel design and prime location and always want to ensure you with the most memorable stay. We thank you for your choosing to stay with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    192
    43
    7
    7
See reviews for
117
164
35
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I went to San Diego on a business trip and this particular Marriott was a perfect fit! It's located in the heart of San Diego where you can find shopping, restaurants, lounges etc! Everything you need is all in one place! The Residence Inn Gaslamp has great staff ( friendly and very professional)! The on site restaurant/bar ( Barvie) has great food as well as drinks. This is the perfect place for a business trip, family vacation or just a small getaway! I would recommend this Hotel to anyone. Thanks to the Staff and Management of Residence Inn for making my first experience of San Diego a memorable one! You guys ROCK!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the trip adviser family. Here at the Residence Inn, we take pride in providing each guest with a memorable experience. We hope you will come back and stay with us in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

First rate service from the front desk to the dining room. Very clean and close to everything. Right in the heart of the Gaslamp District. Restaurants and entertainment and Major League Baseball within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Mac_McCann,

Thank you so much for your positive response. We truly appreciate your business and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Residence Inn Downtown Gaslamp Quarter. We hope that you will come and stay with us again. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great hotel experience! From the front desk being knowledgeable about the area, to the great housekeeping staff, to the wonderful catering team:) Thanks and I would recommend this hotel to my friends/colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Chris L,

We are happy to hear that you had a great experience at our hotel. Our friendly front desk staff is very knowledgeable and always eager to assist our hotel guests, and our housekeeping staff always ensures our guest with the most comfortable stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look hope you will come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, TN
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights on May 30-June1 and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was nice, clean and large with a kitchen area and a sitting area. The room smell fresh and clean when we entered it after housecleaning had freshen up the room each day. The breakfast was wonderful, filled with lots of choices. Check in was fast and easy and the staff was always helpful. We didn't hear any street noise or neighbor noise while we were staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
MS BENNY,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Residence Inn San Diego Downtown Gaslamp Quarter. We take pride in our hotel and always want to ensure our guest with a comfortable room and stay. We hope you will return and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Close to convention center, stadium, many resturants.
Great breakfast (Similar-to, but a little above typical Residence Inns), attentive staff, good Internet and printer support, roomy and comfortable.
Quiet!
No problems!

Room Tip: I was on the 9th floor facing the back street with returants and bars. I expected some noise, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Gary J,

Thank you so much for the positive response. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant experience at our property. We take pride in our hotel and our prime location. With so many options we are glad you had enjoyed yourself during your stay. Hope to see you soon, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for the San Diego Rock 'n' Roll marathon. The room was great and the location was wonderful. It is one block away from the many restaurants and shops on 5th Avenue. The staff was very friendly and I didn't hear any noise from my room on the 4th floor (which I thought I would being in the Gaslamp). The only negative about the hotel was the cost of parking, but all hotels in the area charge a lot for parking. If you don't need your car during your visit, there is an outdoor lot and a parking garage next to the hotel that charge a cheaper price for parking; but you don't get in and out privileges.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Ravens67,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Rock N Roll marathon. It was a very cheerful and inspiring day in our beautiful city of San Diego. We take pride in our hotel and prime location. Our parking fee is comparable to our competitors and our wonderful valet staff is always eager to assist all of our guest as they come and go. We appreciate you and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#35 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.