We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trolley Tickets
Ranked #22 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Will definitely return. Mona at the front desk checked us in and took wonderful care of us. It was our 20 year wedding anniversary as well as attending a wedding at the Prado at Balboa Park. We stayed on the top floor away from the noise and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. The room was everything we needed and more. The hotel lobby and bar/restaurant menu had a great selection and we had a wonderful in room dinner. Location is perfect! A 15-20 min walk to the Coronado Ferry Island as well as the bus to the Zoo. In the middle of everything in Gaslamp too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    180
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
109
152
33
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We (my husband, my 7 month old and I) stayed here during a trip to California last month and I was very impressed. In the blur of planning I booked the wrong hotel and had actually reserved a stay at the Marriot HOTEL, not the Residence Inn, but when we arrived on site and found out the staff was more than willing to assist us in the switch.
I called and spoke to Denee Kane and she not only transferred the reservation but walked me through the whole process and was a life saver! The whole team was delightful and truly helpful, from the front desk staff to the valet attendants. We will be staying here every year when we take our yearly pilgrimage to San Diego!
I cannot say enough about these guys! Thank you for making a great trip even better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is nicely located in the Gaslamp district and only 5 minutes walk from the conference center. Rooms are very nice and very clean with great amenities. Breakfast buffet in the morning has a nice range of variety.
I would highly recommend this for any conference trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We got to the hotel too early to check in so Deardre at the front desk gave us a map of the area and suggested we check out the Waterfront area. Which we did. It was great. She expedited getting our room ready so we were able to check in when we got back. She took really good care of us as did other staff members. Everybody was very friendly. The Hotel is very pretty and comfortable. It is well located and we were able to walk everywhere. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank, california
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel based on the reviews here and we were not disappointed. From the moment you are greeted by the friendly valet staff to check out this property did not miss a step. Anita at check in was pleasant and efficient. I told her my husband and I were celebrating our birthday's and she arranged for free drinks in the bar for us...nice touch. The room was very clean and well appointed. The free breakfast is great, tons to eat and the staff there are exceptional. I never saw so many smiling faces early in the morning. My only complaint would be the shampoo and conditioner are in very, very, small bottles and there is no lotion. I know the parking is expensive but it is in most major cities and there are cheaper options close by. I would recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The front desk was excellent! They even sent notes to our room and called our room to make sure everything was o.k.

Special thanks go to Nina Heck, Food and Beverage Manager. She made my wife and I feel special and very comfortable on a busy night.

Keep up the great work! Everything was neat, clean, and fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for a week and was an excellent choice because of the location, however due to the fact that it s located in the heart of Gaslamp Quater there were two different street party, where they close the street and accessibility back to the hotel can be annoying and stressful as you have to go around and around...Rooms are nice and clean, fresh bedding and courteous staff, special recognition to Elizabeth in Housekeeping Dpt. and Denei at Front Desk for giving accurate information on how to use public transportation. Valet staff were courteous as well, some may open the door for you, others just ignore your presence. Included breakfast was a plus and Kitchen staff work very hard and diligent, they are very pleasant and always with a smile. They do work as a team. Two thumbs up for you all. Plenty of Restaurant, shops and sightseeing to do around!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.