We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trolley Tickets
Ranked #19 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for a full week and had a terrific experience. The room was very nice, modern, and clean. Comfortable bed, a/c, good shower pressure. Loved the kitchen and full fridge. The breakfast was wonderful - a lot of variety. Staff was very friendly and responsive. The location was great - super close to Gaslamp restaurants, Petco Park, and a quick walk to waterfront attractions. Very safe area and nice to walk around. One drawback was the sliding doors to the bathrooms - they are noisy and see-through so the light shows through to the rest of the room - not the best setup if one person has to use the facilities in the night or early in the morning while others are still sleeping. Also - overnight parking fee $38 - wow. Otherwise - all great! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    177
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
108
149
33
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here during a three-day visit to San Diego to visit the zoo and other tourist attractions. The hotel is located in a great part of town, though it's clearly a touristy / younger person's part of town. There are ample restaurants within walking distance at almost every price point, and lots of little shops (many of them tourist traps). We were less than 15 minutes from the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and Balboa Park. The hotel staff was very friendly at every turn, from housekeeping to the valet parking crew. Our room with a pull-out sofa for our daughters was small, but well-appointed, including the mini-kitchen (well-stocked enough to cook a full meal, pots, pans, knives, etc.). The outdoor, heated pool is small, but large enough to entertain kids, and isn't that what a hotel pool is for? (No hot tub for grown-ups, though.) The breakfast served hot eggs and other non-continental fare.

Room Tip: We overlooked the pool, which is in an inner courtyard -- this meant we had light but no street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We've stayed at many Residence Inn properties and this was a good one. Rooms are smaller than I'm accustomed to but still a good option. We're just two (kids have grown) so the mini-suite with kitchen, sitting area, etc. all kind of in one space didn't bother us. Very efficient layout. The breakfast area over the weekend was a zoo, but well managed by the staff - replenished often. The pool and exercise room are tiny. Balancing things out though was the close proximity to Petco (we came for a ballgame), and the numerous restaurants and lounge/bars nearby. We like it quiet. On the seventh floor, you would never know that you're in the middle of the Gaslamp District. The bar was a quiet option on Saturday night compared to all the goings on in the area. We'll be back.

Room Tip: High floors seem to be quieter...watch out for large rowdy groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

a new type of Residence Inn...great location(right in the gaslight quarter)...down the block from trendy fifth avenue and near the baseball stadium...walking distance from anywhere you want to see or do!
Nice clean rooms...pool, exercise room...even a laundry!
love the special welcome from Cathy and Brian, the super hotel manager.
Only problem...just one bed and sorry fold out sofa....

J. And I. ,Santa Monica Ca.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn for about 39 days in the months of April and May of 2012. I would like to send my appreciation to one of the employees at the front desk named KELLY MONTES..... She provided great customer service and was extreemely helpful with any issues I had. I especially would like to give her my thanks because out of about 4-5 people I delt with working the main desk, she was the only one that seemed to care and want to help me. Other workers seemed to have fake smiles and a memorized greeting line everytime i approached the desk, and would quickly become very UNhelpful.
I had some sort of a sticky situation where my roommate and I had to stay in a hotel while my house was under construction for 2 months. I was only staying at the hotel on weekends while my roommate was in the room 7 days a week.
I was originally told when i reserved the room on the phone that parking was $20 non-valet. Once i checked in, I was informed there is only valet parking at $38 per car. Therefore we had 2 cars being charged $38 each, and I had issues when I told the front desk that i would not be parking 1 of the cars in their parking lot but only 2 nights a week. At first it seemed like it was a problem, then they told me I had to notify the desk every time arrived and left. After waiting patiently quite a bit for the second time, just to say "I'm here" or "I'm leaving", I ran into Kelly who told me I could just inform the valets instead of waiting in line everytime.
At one point I was denied a fitted sheet for the pull out sofa mattress, and was given a regular bed sheet that would continually slip off the mattress while i was sleeping.
I was denied a comforter and told i could only have a blanket (it wasn't until I asked one of the guys that personally serviced the room, that I received a comforter).
I also had an issue understanding why my credit card charges were not the same as the charges on the 1st bill I received. I believe i talked to 2 other people who had no clue or answers or care before Kelly stepped up and was able to explain it to me.
There were many little stupid things that all just seemed to accumulate and it just seemed anytime I had a question or issue, KELLY MONTES was the only one with an answer and the only one that seemed like she truly wanted to help. All other people behind the desk had big smiles when they greeted you, and quickly showed a lack of interest or concern for the customer. I have always enjoyed my stays at other Marriotts in the past with friends, the only reason why I stayed at this particular Marriott for such a long period was out of convenience. I had stayed in 2 other hotels durring this period not realizing that the construction on my house was going to take so long. So I came to the Marriott Residence Inn for the available kitchen and because I have had great past experiences in other Marriott Hotels. I did not switch hotels again out of convenience of not having to move my roommate/tenant for a 3rd time.
I gave an average rating to this hotel because most the people at the front desk brought it down. The valets were all great guys and helpful, as well as the cleaning lady.

Paul Madrazo

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Clean, new, and conveniently located in the fun Gaslamp Quarter - near transportation, a short walk from the convention center, restaurants and bars, and the Embarcadero and a short hop on the trolley to Italian quarter and lots of other places. And it's not far from the airport, either. Restaurant on-site and breakfast is included. It's like having your own downtown apartment.
Nice pool and small gym, too.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night for the Color Me Rad. The staff was nice and was a great location. If you have a daughter and wife it is right next to the Gaslamp Quarter and the mall so there is great shopping for them. If you have sons then it is perfect it is only about 3 or 4 blocks from Petco park. The breakfast was really good. Pancakes, sausage, potatoes, and eggs. Some of the many food. There is salsa and cheese and sour cream and onions to put on your eggs. One of the best breakfast ever. Not enough seating though. We had to sit on the side where there are two tables with only two charis. The pool wasn't much very small and only 3 feet deep. Other than that great staff, great breakfast, and great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embodies the urban and eclectic styles of the modern-day Gaslamp Quarter. Guests enjoy the residential feel and strong sense of space in a comfortable and progressive setting. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast, stay connected with complimentary high-speed-internet-access and step out into the vibrancy of downtown. Conveniently located just 2 blocks from the Convention Center and PETCO Park. Relax by the lobby fireplace and rooftop pool, rejuvenate in the fitness center and full-service lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.