We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you kidding me?? Service was terrible, waiter Danko was a no show” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Bar & Grill

Urban Bar & Grill
827 5th Ave, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101-6107 (Downtown)
619-235-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Urban Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #631 of 4,099 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between F & E
Description: Located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, Urban Bar and Grill is a fresh look at contemporary cuisine at a great value for everyone. In addition to offering a delicious menu, we are the perfect place for an after office happy hour or gathering of friends. The chic urban environment is ideal for having a glass of wine with the girls or catching a game on one of our high definition televisions with friends! Our entire menu is created in house with the freshest ingredients to ensure a fantastic dining experience. From delicious starters and fresh salads to inventive burgers and sandwiches to pizzas, pastas and grilled meats to mouth-watering seafood - our culinary team promises something for everyone to enjoy! -Patio and Window Seating Available-
Denver
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me?? Service was terrible, waiter Danko was a no show”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Food was decent (nothing special). I made an open table reservation which they were not aware of until I told them.

Service was soooooo slow, small plates didn't show up, when I asked Danko acted surprised and then got them.

Then another 30 minutes before our dinner showed up and we had a hard time even getting our check (had to flag another server down), then they didn't come back for 10 minutes.

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant and won't go back for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Very Nice Thanksgiving Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We choose the Urban Bar and Grill for Thanksgiving Dinner because they offered a traditional Thanksgiving Dinner and the option of ordering off the menu. They also had good reviews on Tripadvisor. Three of our party had the Traditional Thanksgiving Dinner and loved it. The Chef made it really special (see photo). I chose the filet mignon and it was excellent. The ambiance was very nice. The service was good. We'd highly recommend the Urban Bar and Grill.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Something good for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We needed a light dinner near our hotel on the Marina. We decided to try this restaurant based on its varied menu, relative closeness, and ability to reserve using open table. Both of us were pleased with our meals. Try the bruschetta; the toppings were delicious! The wine pairings were also delicious. Service was good, despite the arrival of several large parties. I really enjoyed eating here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service, a Gaslamp highlight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We made reservations for several restaurants but selected the Urban when they ensured us (at late notice) that they could seat a party of 6 on their patio on a Saturday (Halloween) night for people watching and dinner at 8pm.

We arrived early and took seats in their lovely bar. (Really neat lighting fixtures and comfortable booths.) Great ambiance, wonderful wines by the glass, and nicely made specialty cocktails. We had brought 3 wines to have with dinner (subject to their corkage fee) and the staff was happy to put the champagne and rose on ice for us. Our bar server, Randy, was prompt to reorganize a few tables to seat our party, take our orders, and bring our drinks. He even indulged us by snapping a few photos--with multiple cameras, of course.

Our table was ready right at 8pm and we settled in with our bottles of wine. Our server, Danko, brought us champagne glasses, asked if we would like our red decanted, suggested starters to compliment the champagne, and told us the specials. We had a leisurely appetizer course with the champagne (ahi tacos and calamari--both excellent) then ordered dinner, including beef short ribs, filet mignon, lamb chops (the special), ribeye, and Ahi steak. The food was cooked exactly as ordered and was served in a timely fashion, Danko and the other servers were attentive but unobtrusive, and our party did not in any way feel rushed to leave, despite significant demand for patio seating at this time on a Halloween Saturday night. After dinner, we had coffee and desserts (creme brulee and some chocolate creation of the day) around the table. Again, amazing enough to lick the plate--we didn't do it but you'd never know from the pictures on Facebook!

All in all, it was a wonderful evening with terrific service, fantastic food and lovely ambiance. We enjoyed everything about it and the consensus was a big YES on eating here again, the next time in San Diego in the Gaslamp.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick,Massachusetts
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great food with nice portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a nice place to eat in the Gas Lamp District! My wife and I were lucky to get an outdoor table and our server Daniel, was spot on.

We had the Ahi Tuna and it was fantastic. The brussel sprouts side dish was to die for and the pear goganzola salad is excellent. A very nice wine list as well.

The people watching on 5th Ave.also makes for a great dining experience!

I'd highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the San Diego area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Urban Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.