We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for all ages - bring the camera!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabrillo Tide Pools

Cabrillo Tide Pools
San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$36*
and up
San Diego Shore Excursion: San Diego Seal Tour
Ranked #34 of 192 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Bodies of Water, Geologic Formations, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A short, one mile hike that offers one the opportunity to observe sea life along the shore.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for all ages - bring the camera!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The tide pools at Cabrillo are amazing! There are so many unique kinds of sea creatures in them, and it's awesome to get an up close and personal view. You can actually touch lots of the animals, which is great for little kids (and kids at heart, too)! It's a short walk from the parking lot. You will want to stay here for hours. Also, the view is amazing. Beautiful at sunset! To get into the park, it costs $5 per car, but that price is worth every penny.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    47
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wish I could have seen them...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went first thing in the morning not realizing you needed to come during low tide. It was so foggy we really couldn't see anything, but it did make for an ethereal experience. We decided to come back later in the afternoon. Low tide was supposed to be at 6 and the area closes at 5 so we got there about 4:30 just to see if we could see anything. Well no one said the tidepools close at 4:30 instead of 5 like the rest of the park. So we didn't end up seeing anything. It was rather disappointing and kind of sucks for a public park to close so early.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place - a must see for $5.00 bucks per CAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

REALLY? someone wants to complain about parking? The history surrounding just the light house is worth seeing. Add to it the amazing pools and ocean views and it doesn't get any better. I thought we would drive out for a quick pic of the lighthouse and pools and ended up spending the whole morning looking around. Don't miss it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best tide pools ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I am a big tide pool fan, and being from California, I have visited tide pools in many areas, but the Cabrillo tide pools are my favorite. Not only do you see great tide pool life, but the rocks and cliffs themselves are beautiful, with layers of colors. There's a lot of great climbing around. There were people down there with flip flops, but it's not the best way to get around. Bring an old pair of sneakers that you don't mind getting wet, or wear "water shoes" that have some traction on the bottom. I used to come here as a college student, and now bring my kids here. They are now 11 and 15, and still love visiting. Be sure to check when low tide is! It would be a shame to make the trip and not be able to get down there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Parking problems need attention”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Parking problems and management problems at this location need attention. There is a small lot, for those who have already paid the admission to the park. At one point customers in legal parking places were told to move (these were not the spaces marked "No Parking.") In the end, several visitors with paid admission did not get to see what we traveled there to see.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabrillo Tide Pools also viewed

 

Been to Cabrillo Tide Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabrillo Tide Pools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.