We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to EXPLORE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabrillo Tide Pools

Cabrillo Tide Pools
San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$36*
and up
San Diego Shore Excursion: San Diego Seal Tour
Ranked #34 of 192 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Bodies of Water, Geologic Formations, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A short, one mile hike that offers one the opportunity to observe sea life along the shore.
Sugar Grove, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fun to EXPLORE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved the freedom to walk around on the cliffs and rocks down by the ocean and spend as much time as we wanted exploring the tidepools. Great FUN!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    47
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Neat Area, limited parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Well, for starters Point Loma, the lighthouse and the monument are all accessed through the same gate - and it's accompanying $5 entry fee. The tide pools are part of this "park" - not a separate feature. There is limited parking at the tide pool area. I was there in a non-tourist season month and the park lot for the tide pools was full. I managed to eak out a spot. The hours to access the point loma area are limited - the gate closes at 4:30 PM and you have to be out of the area by 5:00 PM - kind of annoying because the sun sets way later than that...... would be nice to watch a sunset from the point.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite tide pools in San Diego ( and I have lived here for 15 years )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Out of all the tide pools I have been to in San Diego I would have to say that these are my favorite. Not only are these tide pools fairly large but they also contain plenty of small hidden coves / beach areas. On top of all this the view from the lighthouse can't be beat as you are basically standing on the edge of a cliff overlooking downtown San Diego and the pacific ocean.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We got to see the tide pool in 2009 but this time around we were at the park during high tide and therefore there were no tide pools. Tide pools or not, this is a site you do not want to miss. The views are spectacular.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good afternoon fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Only $5 per car to get in. Walked the cliffs for hours looking at the tide pools with my sons. Crabs, fish,anemones; very cool. Sea lions swimming along the shore while the surfers caught some waves. Bring walking shoes and water.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabrillo Tide Pools also viewed

 

Been to Cabrillo Tide Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabrillo Tide Pools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.