We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special treat or regular meal - outstanding restaurant awaits you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Vault and Bistro

Wine Vault and Bistro
3731 India St, San Diego, CA 92103-3779
619-295-3939
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Special treat or regular meal - outstanding restaurant awaits you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Wine Vault & Bistro has become my favorite San Diego restaurant over the last year. Hidden away on India Street, south of Washington, you cannot go wrong with the constantly changing menus with wine pairings that are exquisite. The food is superb, the service is excellent and if you are a wine lover that enjoys wine pairings, you will be in heaven. Can't say enough about this restaurant. And if you are a wine aficionado, the owners also offer, periodically throughout the year, weekend wine trips to various wineries. Highly, highly recommend this restaurant for that special occasion, or just stop by and treat yourself(es) to a wonderful meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    7
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Valentines Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Went for Valentines Day with high expectations after good reviews from a friend. It was a special occasion, our anniversary celebration. If you are used to spending high prices for dinner, you probably will not be disappointed. The ad on the internet said $55 per person. It turned out to be $65 per person plus a 20% gratuity. The food was excellent, and the wines were very good, but the portions were small. If you want high priced, fancy plating, small portions, this is the place for you.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Went here for a special occasion dinner and had a fantastic time! This restaurant only operates for dinner a few times a week so make sure you have a reservation.

We got the tomato soup with avocado, corn and chicken- even though the quantity was a little less the soup was delicious. For the entree I got the halibut with coriander avocado rice and it was so good! I haven't had that perfect fish since i left my mom's house!

The wine pairings were excellent. The dessert I got (something with caramel) was a bit too sweet for me but the wine had hit by then ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The Perfect Private Event Venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have been to Wine Vault a few dozen times for their amazing wine maker dinners, and their exceptionally high quality wine and food pairing dinners, which are one of the best values in town at the same time. Given the intimacy of the venue where we could seat up to 96 guests, we rented the Wine Vault out for my 50th birthday party, and the entire experience was a 10! First, the hard working husband and wife owners Chris and Mary are incredible hosts. The helped us custom build our own menu with my favorite foods (including setting up a Caviar bar!), pair our own wines while they provided some as well, and provided a full bar with top shelf liquors. Chris created a custom cocktail for the occasion, and was generous with allowing us to decorate the restaurant, adjust the lighting to our liking, and make the venue feel as if it was an extension of us. The pricing was more than fair, and there were no hidden costs or nickel and diming. The service was professional, efficient and exceptional, and there is literally nothing we could even offer for improvement of the event in the planning or execution stages. It was a great place to celebrate my 50th, and would make a wonderful place to celebrate almost any occasion!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I still have dreams about this meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This was my first trip to San Diego, and I am now completely spoiled. It was the best meal I have had in a long time. The wine was exceptional, the food fresh and unforgettable, and the service was helpful and friendly. Make a reservation and go.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Vault and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Wine Vault and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Vault and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.