We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast in the East Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission

The Mission
1250 J Street, San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 232-7662
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 4,068 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast in the East Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Mission is a classy, funky little breakfast and lunch spot in the East Village. It is an easy walk from most points in the Downtown area, the Gaslamp District, Petco ballpark, or even the waterfront. The new San Diego library is under construction just steps away from the Mission, which should add an extra bit of panache to what appears to be a neighborhood on the upswing.

The Mission has a great mix of breakfast choices--pancakes, the aforementioned rosemary potatoes, a number of what they call "Latino Favorites," and a variety of coffee and smoothie drinks, The house coffee roast is excellent; if you like your coffee black, it is extremely tasty. I had the chilaquiles, which was well-balanced, flavoful, not too heavy, and had just the right amount of zing with the aid of a little hot sauce. Their orange juice is also fresh--something I miss not having out in the Western Pacific.

Service is attentive, friendly, and not intrusive--allowing you to enjoy breakfast at your own pace.

The Mission opens up at 7. Before 8 or so, it is not too busy and fairly laid back. On a weekday, I left a little after 8 and the restaurant was starting to fill up. I can only image the lines later in the mornings on the weekends, or before/after a Padres game.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    48
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to eat !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was looking for a nice breakfast place and found The Mission restaurant. We had a most enjoyable breakfast. The selections available were great with the' rosemary potatoes ' being my favorite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I read other reviews on this place and I was not disappointed. Had the soy chorizo quesadilla, it was tasty. Really wanted to get the cornmeal pancakes but I guess will have to go back the next time I'm in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's all about Rosemary Potatoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stopped in for Breakfast during a recent visit to San Diego. The plates are all huge and fairly cheap. We ordered the Mission Rosemary and the Beef hash and eggs. Both dishes were similar and served with their signature Rosemary potatoes and Grilled Rosemary Bread. The potatoes taste like they are double fried with lots of love. Crispy and delicious. We also ordered Naked pancakes to share which although probably excessive was definitely a nice touch. Also, probably the best cup of coffee I had while in San Diego.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fabulous breakfast, good prices and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

we stumbled upon this little gem and were very happy with it. the food was fabulous and the service was great. they have a good deal of variety on their menu and have several gluten free options.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mission also viewed

 

Been to The Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.