We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tender Greens

Tender Greens
2400 Historic Decatur Rd Suite 104, San Diego, CA 92106
619-226-6254
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $15
Restaurant details
Temecula, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a great find!! We stopped in at the Tender Greens in Liberty Station for my birthday lunch. I had the tuna sandwich with the simple salad and it was perfect! Everything about this place was awesome, The food, the service, the location!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    40
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acapulco, Mexico
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“What a FANTASTIC concept.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I spotted Tender Greens from the city tour and announced to my husband that I was getting out for lunch there. I nearly backed out when I saw the LONG line but from what we could see, and the fast moving line, we decided to stay. I am SO glad that we did and we had a healthy, delicious reasonably priced meal which we like so much, we returned on our last day. I hope these spring up all over the U.S. and show people that you can easily provide delicious inexpensive healthy food. Kudos to whoever thought this up.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful salads and soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We tried the branch on West Broadway. It's a cafeteria operation so don't expect anything fancy but it does offer reasonably priced soups and salads. The soups at 4 dollars were excellent - they had chicken and corn chowder and gazpacho when we were there and both were really good. The salads are made with fresh ingredients and again good value at $11. A word of warning for visiting Europeans though - the salad portions are really big and two people could easily share one. Staff were friendly and helpful too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Greens are not tender”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant is misnamed; we had a salad, and the greens were not at all tender, they were rough and had too many stems. It was a salade nicoise, which should not have as many greens as this salad had. The green beans were undercooked, the tomatoes tasteless, and there was one tiny hard boiled egg sliced in half. The albacore tuna was OK, and the capers and olives were nice. One piece of burned rustic bread. One of our party had sliced beef with mashed potatoes and vegetables, this dish looked a lot better and worth the $11 price tag (the salad was NOT worth the $11 price tag). The inside of the restaurant is a bit dismal, but the outside was nice. Fast-food style ordering, which was why we went there prior to dropping friends off a the nearby airport.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fresh and very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

the food was very healthy the flavors were excellent and tasteful and the price was outstanding. as I was eating it feel good to my soul and body and I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tender Greens also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Tender Greens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tender Greens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.