We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tasty Little Piece of New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Creole Cafe

New Orleans Creole Cafe
2476 A San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)
(619) 542-1698
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #361 of 4,046 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Tasty Little Piece of New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The New Orleans Creole Cafe is in Old Town San Diego and a bit off the beaten path. We had the Alligator sausage as an appetizer and I enjoyed a Blackened Chicken salad with a fabulous remoulade and my husband had the Muffuletta salad, equally tasty. The owners took great care to make sure that we were well taken care of. We highly recommend a visit!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“New Orleans food in the heart of Ol Town San Diego”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

One of our group wanted to have some Creole food so we went to the only place in town. New Orleans Café in Ol Town. The food was pretty good but not exceptional but I have spent a fair amount of time eating in NO La. The Alligator sausage was pretty average. The F onion soup was Ok but the bread crouton should be toasted and not just fresh bread with cheese on top onions were puree and should have more bulk, Gumbo was good chicken & Sausage combo. Shrimp Creole with sausage was good but not outstanding, Crawfish Etouffee was rich and the best dish. Fried Shrimp was cooked perfect but I did not try it. Overall the meal was pretty good but not exceptional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Pleasant and surprising setting just off San Diego Avenue. The host was congenial, informative and effecient. The food was ooooweeee good!! We learned alot about creole food and the history of the property. We shared 5 different dishes and every one was superb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Old West Creole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

.This place was recommended to us and we found it quite a surprise. Only patio seating was available, 4 tables, and food took almost an hour. It was worth the wait. Husband had the Red beans & rice and I had Jambalaya.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amid all the Mexican spots there's this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've been in New Orleans many times and the food at the New Orleans Creole Cafe in Old Town San Diego is perhaps not as good as the best in New Orleans but it's darned good. There were 5 of us and we got a variety of dishes and everyone enjoyed their food. They might want to work on adding a little green side, like a small salad or some such, to the red beans and rice and the jambalaya etc. Their wine by the glass menu has few choices, which isn't a good thing. But it's a nice small room, with friendly services, and good food.
This is an odd place. The servers have to enter and exit through the one door in the small dining room after walking along a covered porch. This is a new one for me.
I'd recommend trying it if you get tired of Mexican or Italian while in San Deigo. Old Town is sort of fun. We went there a second time early in the morning and found it to be much more pleasant than in the evening, though the evening was fine too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Creole Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Creole Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Creole Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.