We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla

Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla
8990 University Center Lane, San Diego, CA 92122
8584532583
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 4,167 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Jolla Village Drive
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had dinner with a colleague here during a recent business trip to La Jolla. It was on the property of the Hyatt La Jolla. I didn't know anything about the restaurant so my expectations were not high, but I was very impressed and would definitely go back given the opportunity.

Very energetic and vibrant "scene," including some nice live piano, yet you were still able to talk over dinner without shouting.

Impressive menu selection with an emphasis one freshness and minimalism. Even so, there were some more involved creative and gourmet options. My fish was excellent! The restaurant also offered stone crab which is amazing. I did not have it here, but I highly recommend it. My fish taste of stone crab came at the famous restaurant in Miami Beach, near South Beach. The name escapes me but I'm sure many know the place I'm talking about.

Wine list was impressive and varied.

Service was excellent. The waiter was very knowledeable and not afraid to offer honest recommendations. I very much appreciate that.

The only slight downer? The dessert, at least the one I had, was only mediocre.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    51
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“best crab claws in san diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This restaurant has the greatest and freshest crab claws. We have eaten there several times, the latest on 5-6-13, and each time, the service is superb, the food is outstanding, and the ambiance is perfect. This is the restaurant that we go to whenever we "yearn " for crab claws

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to Truluck's in early May, 2013, and had an incredible meal from start to finish. Wonderful ambience, the restaurant was that perfect degree of busy that enhances your meal without detracting from service (piano player, pleasant hum of talking, fairly private booths), our server was fantastic, and the meal was incredible. We brought our daughters, and they both enjoyed their meal as well, even though there is no kids menu per se. Our server went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. We shared a crab appetizer, and I had the Miso-Glazed Seabass, which was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. My 9 year old thought it was wonderful as well. It was a birthday dinner, and the restaurant surprised us with a fabulous chocolate bread pudding with cherries jubilee - the flaming dessert was a hit. Fantastic meal; we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
870 reviews 870 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
435 helpful votes 435 helpful votes
“Truly good Truluck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Surprised this place isn't ranked higher. It was a group of 15 of us and we ordered appertisers to share. The shrimp and crab cakes were good. The austrian riesling was a good accompaniment. We all ordered seafood and everyone liked their mains. My chilean sea bass was the best i've ever had so far. They grill it so well, the juices flow out with each bite. It was so fresh. We shared their giant slices of carrot and chocolate cake. The former is also probably the best i've had so far

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tremendous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have eaten at over 1000 restaurants and can say the restaurant, food and service puts it in my top 5.

The atmosphere is classy without being stuffy and even though it was crowded the noise level was not loud at all. The way they have booths set up it makes it intimate and you dont see allot of other diners.

The service was fantastic from the hostess, the waiter and the manager even called me the next day to just if i had a good experience at the restaurant.

The shrimp cocktail was excellent and the crab and steak entrees were as well. The sides mac and cheese, potatos were also very good and the carrot cake dessert was one if the best i have ever had.

I would receommned this restaurant for anything, a special occasion, romantic night out or dinner with friends...

If you go to san diego you need to try this restaurant, you wont be disapointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla also viewed

 

Been to Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.