We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice caipirinha and fresh oysters!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla

Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla
8990 University Center Lane, San Diego, CA 92122
8584532583
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Jolla Village Drive
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice caipirinha and fresh oysters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went there for dinner with some colleagues from work. Cocktails are half of the price until 7pm. The caipirinha as OK, made with Leblon (Brazilian cachaca). I order a dozen fresh oysters! Very nice. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience, adequate service, nice environment, live music, and good wine list.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    42
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to this restaurant at the request of one of our friends for her birthday. There were three couples for dinner. We were seated fairly quickly as we had reservations (recommended). Once all partys arrived, we ordered drinks and reviewed the menu. The waiter was great and very attentive to our needs. We then placed our orders consisting of two Crab Cake orders with mashed potato and broccoli, one order of Cioppino, two orders of the Scallops with asparagus spears, and one order of swordfish with asparagus spears. All the meals were good with the exception of one order of Scallops that were visibly overcooked. We returned that order only to get another one that was undercooked (raw). The third time was a charm, but by thit time, all of the other people had almost finished their meals. The manager did visit or table and was very apologetic for the inconvenience. She offered to pay for the Scallops and a dessert.

After the main meal, we all had dessert consisting of Coconut Cake, Chocolate Malt Cake, and we also tried the bagged chocolate dessert (great taste!). Finally a couple of coffees to finish things off. Overall, we had a great time with friends and the restaurant atmosphere. With the exception of the Scallops (only reason for the 4 stars), we truly enjoyed our visit. Valet parking is available for a flat rate of $8 or you can self park under the Hyatt Hotel for 3 hours complimentary (with ticket validation).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a very nice room that serves excellent and fresh shell fish. The staff is professional and knowledgeable. Wine selection is good. Service is very good. When in La Jolla again, we will return.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Exceeded all Expectations!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We loved our meal at Truluck's. We were seated promptly and bread was brought to the table at once. It was warm and delicious. Our waitress was attentive and knew the food well. Her suggestions were excellent.
We started with the calamari. It was one of the best we have had. We also had a simple wedge salad. It was fresh, crisp and full of blue cheese. A great start.
For an entree the cajun swordfish was enjoyed by two in our party. The generous piece of swordfish was very fresh. The sauce was excellent and had quite a bit of crab in it. The King Crab legs are outstanding as well. I do not think you could find better crab legs anywhere.
While we were full, we each decided to take home dessert. My husband and I shared a piece of carrot cake back at our hotel. It was huge (even when cut in half). After our first bite, we thought it was too sweet but we could not stop eating it!!!!! We are still dreaming about it.
Our son took home their signature chocolate bag. It was filled with chocolate fudge, cake and more. He loved it as well.
We were hesitant to eat at this "chain". However, our meal and service were outstanding. We will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best seafood I had next to my own cooking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Came here Monday for the all you can eat Crab Claw for $62. Also all you can eat soup, salad, and side come included. There are 3 different size of claw. For all you can eat, we were offer the small size only. The first two round was 5 claws. After that each round was 3 claws at a time. 15 min wait each time or at least it felt that way for me. I patiently waited like everyone else and order more soup and sides. After 8 round, the waiter told me that they are out of small claws so they bring out the bigger claws. I had 10 rounds of claws. My wife Sea Bass was Pan Sear to perfection. It was thick and not over cook. When we left, the front reception had to call people on reserve letting them know that they were out of claws. Funny. The next day, we received a call from them asking us how was our experience. I thought that was kind of them to call and appreciat there service very much.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla also viewed

 

Been to Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truluck's Seafood Steak and Crab - La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.