We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great urban apartment style hotel. Very cute and cozy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of William Penn Hotel

William Penn Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
William Penn Hotel
Save
You added William Penn Hotel to your Saves list
511 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 San Diego B&B and Inns
Scottsdale, Az
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great urban apartment style hotel. Very cute and cozy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I was surprised at how cute, chic and urban this boutique hotel turned out. The rooms were very spacious and clean. I enjoyed the stay. The only downfall is that it is located where the clubs and bars are and can get quite noisy at night. This can also be an upside if you're there to go to those clubs and bars.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
10
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

After much searching and comparing prices and space and amenities included as well as factoring in location, we decided on the William Penn based off of other reviews. We booked the room for $139 for a one night stay. The building is really like a small apartment complex turned into a hotel. Our unit had a living room area, a kitchen and dining area, a space for correspondence, the bedroom, and a very large bathroom. The kitchen comes with everything you could possibly need from making breakfast to uncorking a wine bottle. There is a flat screen tv in the living room with a dvd player and another flat screen tv in the bedroom. The place is very well decorated and it was a very clean hotel. The only complaint was falling asleep to some noise and din due to the fact that it is right in the heart of the gaslamp district. If you bring some earplugs and have had a few drinks, not that difficult to sleep through the noise. We only stayed for one night and the hotel was spacious and relaxing. If we need to visit the gaslamp area again, will definitely be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdnatalie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Right in the heart of the Gaslamp District, the William Penn Hotel was an old historic hotel that has managed to keep its charm over the years, yet the rooms still have all the modern amenities you could ask for. We felt right at home here. The rooms are basically fully furnished apartments with full kitchens stocked with a coffee maker, blender, utencils, dishes, full size refrigerator, etc. The bed was super comfortable, and the couch was equally as cozy. The hotel is located in the middle of everything –– great shops, bars, restaurants, night clubs. We tried as many eating and drinking establishments as possible during our stay and we had a great time! And thanks to William Penn’s central location, we had no problem walking back to the hotel after a long night on the town. Downtown San Diego is a great place to be, and the William Penn Hotel is my new favorite hotel there. We’ll Be Back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Great place, would like to comeback. Location in the middle of downtown is nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

I was a little thrown off by my experience at the William Penn. It wasn't quite what I had expected. To start, I received a call from the receptionist about an hour before I arrived letting me know that there is no one at the "front desk" at night so she would leave my room key in a lock box outside the hotel! There was also no housekeeping. To top it off, they had no designated parking. You could park on the street and pay the meter during the day (very pricey), or you could park your car 4 blocks away in a parking lot where the give discounts to the guests of the William Penn ($10 per day). Neither option I was happy with. It just didn't seem very much like a hotel. It seemed like I was staying in a friend's apartment. Only, I had to pay this friend $160/ night.
The room was very clean, the beds were comfy and it was in a great location. The room itself was great. It's just all the other little things that you come to expect when staying in a hotel that were "off".

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

This is a great hotel. The room was great, had the bedroom upstairs and the living room, kitchen below. It was very convenient, like having 2 rooms for the price of one. The only thing is that its an older building with wood floors so you can hear people walking up and down the stairs and hear the people staying in rooms above you. The area is great, right in the Gaslamp District, so you walk outside and there are great places to eat and lots of bars and clubs right along the street.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

The air conditioning fan blows with great noise, which can be heard over the "music" from the night club below the floor of my bedroom. The noise continues until after 1:00 AM on the weekends. I reported a dripping kitchen sink that was never fixed. The glasses and dishes provided were dirty, so I washed them before using. The floor in the elevator hasn't been cleaned in a long time. You are basically "on your own" with no one to improve any situation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William Penn Hotel

Address: 511 F Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage William Penn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.