We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool vibe, good pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basic

Basic
410 10th Av, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
619.531.8869
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 3,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
448 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Cool vibe, good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place is good, really good but there is no way it's the #1 restaurant in San Diego. I ate here recently with my son and the pepperoni pizza with tomato and onion was very good. It was extremely greasy though. We had to request additional napkins to mop up the standing grease on the pizza before we could eat it. The salad was fantastic and enough for at least 4 or 5 people. I'll definitely go back to Basic the next time I'm in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    106
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great restaurant ! Forget about New York and Chicago this is probably the best pizza ever and its close to the house. If you come to San Diego you need to come to Basic !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very unique atmosphere and delicious pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This place was not at all what we expected, but we were pleasantly surprised! The restaurant is in a large commercial sized garage. The garage doors were left open, giving the restaurant a very unique, yet fun vibe! There is a pool table, and lots of odd places to sit. We chose a couple of flat couches with a coffee table but there were also pews, giant flat sofas, tall and skinny wooden tables and the bar to choose from. The food is amazing as well! The salad delicious, the pizzas large and scrumptious! And the mashed potato pizza is amazing! Definitely go to this place for a unique experience and delicious food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“In the mood for pizza? Try Basic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I absolutely love a good pizza. We grew up outside Philly and spent a bit of time in NYC, so good Northeast pizza is the standard. We also found some awesome pizzeria's in Rome - totally different style of pizza there. Basic serves up what I'd call a Roman style pizza with the flavors of the Northeast pizza baked in. Hard to describe entirely so go give it a try to see for yourself. Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic is good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We took our 2 teenagers here our last night in San Diego.Lots of food for the price.The salad is good.A little to much cheese.Next time will we ask for less.It is very good but not excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basic also viewed

 

Been to Basic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.