We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique atmosphere and delicious pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basic

Basic
410 10th Av, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
619.531.8869
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 4,039 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very unique atmosphere and delicious pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This place was not at all what we expected, but we were pleasantly surprised! The restaurant is in a large commercial sized garage. The garage doors were left open, giving the restaurant a very unique, yet fun vibe! There is a pool table, and lots of odd places to sit. We chose a couple of flat couches with a coffee table but there were also pews, giant flat sofas, tall and skinny wooden tables and the bar to choose from. The food is amazing as well! The salad delicious, the pizzas large and scrumptious! And the mashed potato pizza is amazing! Definitely go to this place for a unique experience and delicious food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    152
    71
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“In the mood for pizza? Try Basic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I absolutely love a good pizza. We grew up outside Philly and spent a bit of time in NYC, so good Northeast pizza is the standard. We also found some awesome pizzeria's in Rome - totally different style of pizza there. Basic serves up what I'd call a Roman style pizza with the flavors of the Northeast pizza baked in. Hard to describe entirely so go give it a try to see for yourself. Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Basic is good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We took our 2 teenagers here our last night in San Diego.Lots of food for the price.The salad is good.A little to much cheese.Next time will we ask for less.It is very good but not excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Due to the number 1 rating on TA, i was determined to try the pizza from Basic. Judging by the crowd of people there and the wait to get pizza to go, I'm guessing so were a number of other people. The pizza was incredible! I honestly could not fault the experience in any way.
The bartender was very friendly when taking my order, and kept me updated during the significant wait. The rest of the bar staff were all happy and talkative as they walked past.
I'm not quite sure how a pizza place is number 1 on TA, as I'm sure that there has to be some better restaurants, however if you are in San Diego and feel like a great pizza at a reasonable price, Basic is the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

There is no question that the Pizza here is fantastic, but im not sure why this would be ranked the number 1 restaurant in San Diego, there are a lot more options and places which offer far superior food.

Basic Pizza is all about having Pizza and beer and some after work drinks, overall its a great hang out spot, but not somewhere i would want to go for a nice relaxing dinner.

The one in downtown takes on a different crowd when the Padres game is on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basic also viewed

 

Been to Basic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.