We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the mood for pizza? Try Basic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basic

Basic
410 10th Av, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
619.531.8869
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 3,693 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“In the mood for pizza? Try Basic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I absolutely love a good pizza. We grew up outside Philly and spent a bit of time in NYC, so good Northeast pizza is the standard. We also found some awesome pizzeria's in Rome - totally different style of pizza there. Basic serves up what I'd call a Roman style pizza with the flavors of the Northeast pizza baked in. Hard to describe entirely so go give it a try to see for yourself. Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    99
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Basic is good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We took our 2 teenagers here our last night in San Diego.Lots of food for the price.The salad is good.A little to much cheese.Next time will we ask for less.It is very good but not excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Due to the number 1 rating on TA, i was determined to try the pizza from Basic. Judging by the crowd of people there and the wait to get pizza to go, I'm guessing so were a number of other people. The pizza was incredible! I honestly could not fault the experience in any way.
The bartender was very friendly when taking my order, and kept me updated during the significant wait. The rest of the bar staff were all happy and talkative as they walked past.
I'm not quite sure how a pizza place is number 1 on TA, as I'm sure that there has to be some better restaurants, however if you are in San Diego and feel like a great pizza at a reasonable price, Basic is the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

There is no question that the Pizza here is fantastic, but im not sure why this would be ranked the number 1 restaurant in San Diego, there are a lot more options and places which offer far superior food.

Basic Pizza is all about having Pizza and beer and some after work drinks, overall its a great hang out spot, but not somewhere i would want to go for a nice relaxing dinner.

The one in downtown takes on a different crowd when the Padres game is on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are staying on the bay front and attending a conference. I looked up restaurants on Trip Advisor and found Basic Pizza was close by and rated #1 in SD. We were really excited about going to the #1 place to eat and were expecting some out of this world pizza there. I will have to say we were a bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong the pizza was good, but I was very surprised that this is rated #1. I have eaten better pizza at home in Missouri.
The service is very good and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basic also viewed

 

Been to Basic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.