We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much of a decor but boy, what a pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basic

Basic
410 10th Av, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
619.531.8869
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 3,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Montréal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not much of a decor but boy, what a pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I found this restaurant in tripadvisor. I went with my wife before a Padres game on may 4th 2013.
From the outside, it doesn't look like much. Stepping into the place, it doesn't look much better.
However, we were well treated by the staff, and the pizza was delicious!
I urge you, if you're in the San Diego area of visiting, to try Basic's pizza only once. Once you taste it, you won't forget it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    106
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

best pizza i've ever had was the mashed potato pizza at basic!! we went on a thurs night and the place wasnt that busy so we sat at the bar and enjoyed some great craft beers and the mashed potato pizza which was sooooo good!!!
we went back saturday and it was totally a different scene! line ups out the door and club wear! the pizza place was turned into a night club and was PACKED! we noticed the girls were going to the front of the line and flirted a bit and got right in, so thats what we did and got past the line. its a lot of fun, u should def go check it out !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool Restaurant/Social Hangout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This place looks like a garage from the outside but is always hopping with good adult crowd. Pizza is great and the staff is awesome... very cool hangout for locals 21 and up and a great way to meet people in the area. Very close to Petco park and good place to be any night of the week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAIL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate here on a Tuesday night while visiting San Diego. The food was "basic" but oh so very delicious! We shared the salad and a small pizza. It was plenty of food for 2 of us. The prices are very reasonable compared to other places we ate in San Diego. The atmosphere was hopping and next time we are in San Diego, we will go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
992 reviews
583 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“Big Basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Basic has seperate restaurant and bar spaces , with the latter having a very big airy area. The whole place has the minimalist original look - untreated cement floor, wooden beam ceilings etc

You choose toppings for your pizza and they are huge, even for the small size. The taste really depends on what toppings you choose i guess. The pizza was a tad too oily i thought, hope it's just olive oil

Overall ok and the menu is simple, probably why it's called Basic. Probably also because thet use paper plates. What a good way to save washing cost and time

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basic also viewed

 

Been to Basic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.