We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a museum in Balboa Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mingei International Museum

Mingei International Museum
1439 El Prado, Balboa Park, San Diego, CA 92101 (Balboa Park)
619-239-0003
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$80*
and up
Ranked #41 of 193 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum of folk crafts with a variety of displays that run the gamut from textiles and toys to painting and sculpture.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gem of a museum in Balboa Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The gift shop has an amazing selection of jewelry, recycled art, wooden art, and other media that is well worth a 15 minute stroll.
The exhibit of Contemporary Japaenese Ceramics was beautiful. The Hats and Headresses Collection - from the Permanent Collection was not only stunning to view, but very educational and presented in a nice flow and format. we were fortunate to have arrived on the first day of a temporary exhibit, " True Blue - Indigo, Turquoise, Cobalt & Lapis Lazuli - at the museum running through Feb 17, 2013. The selection of jewelry was very nice. Although there was a short video running, there was an audio problem, so we could not watch it. I highly recommend this museum for anyone interested in learning about the crafts and art of other world cultures. Quite uniique.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great specialized museum in Balboa Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Beautiful small gem of a museum in the center of Balboa Park; lovely gardens in the back with a great view of the tower under the moonlight with full moon in the backdrop. Stunning show of the Craft Movement in San Diego, with many diverse examples of different artist's works in several media.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

is a nice big museum for you and the whole family, just try going once, you can't see all in one day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed the Mingei Museum. Great set of exhibits and friendly and knowledgeable docents. Make this your first stop in Balboa Park!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Blah, not super impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Unfortunately this museum is not on the top of my list because we always travel with our service dog and we were asked too many questions at the door. This left sour note on the rest of the day. I really think that since this museum is in the heart of a major city they should know the guidelines of the Ada and inform their employees accordingly. Plus this museum did not have much to offer. We were impressed with the artwork downstairs, but that was about all.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mingei International Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mingei International Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mingei International Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.