We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Photographic Arts (MoPA)

Museum of Photographic Arts (MoPA)
1649 El Prado at Sixth Avenue, Balboa Park, San Diego, CA 92101 (Balboa Park)
619-238-7559
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$80*
and up
Ranked #135 of 192 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Photographic Arts is one of the only museums in the country dedicated exclusively to the photographic arts, presenting work by some of the world's most celebrated photographers and cinematographers in its spacious new galleries and state-of-the-art 228 seat theater. MoPA is located in beautiful Balboa Park near downtown San Diego.
Plainfield, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I initially wanted to check out this museum as my friend has taken up photography as a hobby and it working on an internet course though the New York Institute of Art. My hope was that a museum like this would be give some inspiration to him. I was very wrong. Though the admission price was cheap at 6 dollars, it was not worth it. we walked the whole gallery in like 20 minutes. I would hesitate to call this a museum due to its small size. And half of the gallery was dedicated to photographs taken by children in middle school. I would not revisit this "museum" and would caution anyone who thinks this is anywhere close to being a museum. There is a Museum of Art and a Natural History Museum close by would be far better choices.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    9
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The collection is very interesting and there is usually a special exhibit going.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Interested in photographic art and so looked forward to this. But for an entrance fee of $12 for the smallest exhibition I have been to in a long time. Personally the only redeeming feature was the children's exhibit. Perhaps I'm spoiled by the quality of British Museums?

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent presentation, nice staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I have visited this musuem twice.

Both times it coupled a travelling exhibit with some exhbitis creatively based on its permanent collections. It is relatively small but a great space for impactful photography displays with space to walk through and experience the display, technology and space to make comments if you wish, background information and more.

If you like photography, this is a must see within Balboa Parks many museums. Even if you are not a great photography fan check out the latest show and see if it is something you would like. The price for entrance for me alone with no senior or student or miltary discount is just $6. Once you pay you can go in and out for the day so you can digest and re-view the exhibits if you want, or go have a bite in the cafe in the same building.

The musuem store is nice too. The staff is helpful and friendly.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“nice little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

Nice collection of photographs with rotating exhibits. Color and Black/White. Takes about an hour to see it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Photographic Arts (MoPA) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Photographic Arts (MoPA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Photographic Arts (MoPA), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.