We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough to justify entrance fee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Automotive Museum

San Diego Automotive Museum
2080 Pan American Plaza, San Diego, CA 92101 (Balboa Park)
619 231 2886
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$80*
and up
Ranked #97 of 192 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Magnificent display of vintage automobiles and motorcycles including a 1927 Bentley, 1931 Rolls Royce Phaeton and Steve McQueen's 1953 Allard.
UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not enough to justify entrance fee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, just a bit pricy for what it was and should be lumped in with the air & space museum next door(which is fantastic). Some lovely motorcycles on display and really lovely staff

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    32
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Camping in car and old Harley Davidson collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Well, great volunteer staff to explain cars on display.Interesting continues film showing how one car can,do laundry,iron clothes,have a shower...while on the road.Restores bikes,race cars and many other antique cars,trucks and motor bikes.There display changes monthly with a whole car lots unique vehicle .A car buffs dream in San Diego Old Town.Enjoy we will visit again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I enjoyed this museum but it was small and currently dominated by corvettes as they have a special celebration for the 60th anniversary. Corvettes aren't my favourite but other than that, several quite interesting old cars. I was glad I had a 2 for 1 coupon as I thought there wasn't much there for the $8.50 per person price. Check on the Balboa Park hot deals before going in case there is a 2 for 1 coupon. If you get the deal I would recommend if you like cars and motorcycles.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small Museum - Unusual Cars - Helpful Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were on the San Diego Trolley Tour and they stopped at this spot. We decided to stretch our legs and check out this museum. The Trolley Tours offered a discount coupon, however, we saved even more by showing our AAA card.

The museum is small and easy to navigate. The staff was friendly and could tell you information about any car in the museum. They also have a nice selection of motorcycles. Louie Mattar's car was fabulous and who doesn't want a photo next to a DeLorean?

There was also a small gift shop at the exit/entrance.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting little museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We visited when they had a Corvette show which meant half the museum was dedicated to Corvettes - I guess the original exhibits had been moved out to make room? The Corvettes were good though.

Anyway, the museum is not huge but what they have is interesting. My husband had a great time and it took about an hour to tour the whole place. The info about the wooden road was especially interesting.

My only advice is to avoid free Tuesday. From what we could gather the museums in the park are free to San Diego residents on certain Tuesdays each month - the day we went - which means the park and museums are absolutely packed with kids! As a result this museum was quite busy as it is next to the air museum and most families seemed to be doing them both.

Worth a trip as long as you aren't expecting a huge car collection with hundreds of vehicles.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Automotive Museum also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Automotive Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Automotive Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.