We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Automotive Museum

San Diego Automotive Museum
2080 Pan American Plaza, San Diego, CA 92101 (Balboa Park)
619 231 2886
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 220 attractions in San Diego
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Magnificent display of vintage automobiles and motorcycles including a 1927 Bentley, 1931 Rolls Royce Phaeton and Steve McQueen's 1953 Allard.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very fun Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a place I would love to share with my father. I completely enjoyed it. It covered all eras and regions.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Needs some more cars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've visited this place three times in the last 5 years or so, and the quality honestly has declined a bit. While sure, the exhibits rotate, there is less and less cars to see compared to LA's car museums (Nethercutt and Petersen). For now, it would be all right for someone who hasn't visited this place before, or if you can come here when they have a free day. I was able to pay the student rate minus some discount, so it was worth it for a 30 minute visit. However, the next time I come back to SD, I'll go visit something else in the meantime.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great vintage Car/Motorcycle display! SD Residents can visit free 1 day a month. Check site calendar.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Average museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

It is just a bunch of cars, nothing more. A great assortment, but nothing interactive or extra. I felt it could be better. The building is plain and feels like a large storage unit on the inside. A plus is nobody is trying to sell you the car or advertise their cars.

If you are going to the Airplane museum right by this museum, go to the auto museum first and not the other way around.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Handful of cars/motorcycles in an okay venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I took advantage of the "Free Tuesday" admission for San Diego County residents for my first visit to the San Diego Automotive Museum.

The collection of cars is rather modest, but there are some very impressive cars within that collection. There seemed to be more vintage motorcycles than cars on display. They also had an additional special exhibit of trucks on display today, but that was an additional $2 to see.

The venue itself was unremarkable. I kind of felt as though I was in a school cafeteria where the tables had been removed and were replaced by the cars and motorcycles.

Had I been charged the $8 admission fee and the $2 extra, I probably would have felt that I overpaid. I was in and out of the museum in about 30 minutes.

If you really want to see a beautifully restored 1932 Convertible Coupe Cadillac, a 1953 Jaguar XK120, or some vintage Harleys or Indians, then this is your place. Otherwise, I think you can get better value for your museum dollar and time elsewhere in the park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Automotive Museum also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Automotive Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Automotive Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Diego Automotive Museum to your Saves list