We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Shopping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bazaar del Mundo

Bazaar del Mundo
4133 Taylor Street, San Diego, CA 92110 (Old Town)
+1 619-296-3161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 50 shopping in San Diego
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Malls, Shops, Specialty Shops
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Bazaar del Mundo Shops, which have been recognized as one of the best shopping environments in San Diego, create a lively and colorful entry to San Diego's Old Town community. The Shops are comprised of colorful boutiques, each offering unique gifts from all over the world, home accessories and collectibles, handcrafted artisan jewelry, plus creative fashion, arts and crafts. The Kitchen Shop offers vibrant tabletop products and worldwide imported ceramics, as well as specializes in unique and quality crafts and folk art from Mexico.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great shopping, unique merchandise. One shop had scads of Laurel Burch merchandise from purses to jewelry to socks...Christmas shopping done-check!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I Love This Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I love Bazaar del Mundo! There is so much to do here, it's full of Mexican culture, a beautiful area with authentic Mexican food, tons of restaurants, you may see Mexican dancers and Mariachis serenading. Lots of souveniers and gifts. Very colorful, festive and friendly. A lovely place to spend a whole day (or two).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Interesting Place to Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The shops at Bazaar Del Mundo are interesting to visit. We have always found something we like. The 2-story gift shop has many lovely Mexican items-including linens and dishes. Upstairs are many hand made folk art items made in Mexico. Behind this shop is a large store with more Mexican home interior design objects-large and small. Perhaps we enjoy shopping here more that someone from another part of the country as we live in southern Arizona and these items fit our decor. Another lovely shop there has women's apparel and accessories. These are not your normal souvenir shops.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Learn a little history of Bazaar Del Mundo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Even Mexico, about 17 miles south doesn't have "authentic" Mexican souvenirs and offerings. Much of their stuff is made in China. But many San Diegans know the history of Bazaar Del Mundo and Diane Power's (the owner) generosity to her community. Bazaar Del Mundo used to be in their past location and in their present location a place of color and joyfulness. The state's idea when they denied the renewal of Bazaar Del Mundo's lease several years ago was a park that portrayed early San Diego, a shipping stop of basic necessity stores, hotels, bars and brothels. The Mexican population was more toward the Mission and they were mostly hard agricultural workers without a lot of gaiety seen at Bazaar Del Mundo today.
There are still many of us who still enjoy the shopping experience at Bazaar Del Mundo and they do have items of quality and originality that are not found at the near by swap meet (mentioned in an earlier posting..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I was underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The old town layout is interesting enough. At a glance it looked pretty cool. But ... once we got into the shops ... I was disappointed. I was expecting something with more of a Spanish theme to it, all it was was Mexican. You can get that anywhere. The free Museum we went through looked good, maybe somewhat under maintained. The rest of the place? Well ... the shops had, mostly, tacky (lot of foreign made) junk you can get anywhere. It, also, seemed a little on the girlie side? This place does not have any kind of 'old west' flavor to it at all.

The Bazaar was no different than any other one I've been to, in south and central America. Not as smelly and no kids trying to pick my pockets - but ... noting extra. Actually the ones in South America had better stuff in them. I think the fist 'Zorro' movie did a better job than this place does of displaying 'Old California'. Come on folks ... you can do better than this.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bazaar del Mundo also viewed

 

Been to Bazaar del Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazaar del Mundo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bazaar del Mundo to your Saves list