We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Model Railroad Museum

San Diego Model Railroad Museum
1649 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101-1621 (Balboa Park)
619 696 0199
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$80*
and up
Ranked #23 of 193 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world's largest model railroad museums features a scale model railway that replicates San Diego's tracks.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I took my 7 year-old daughter here last Christmastime. She loved it and marveled at all the amazing exhibits. There was even a huge Christmas town exhibit in the back, complete with hot-chocolate-scent billowing locomotives.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Terrific, even for older kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went with our 3 teenage kids, not knowing how much the older two would enjoy it, but we all loved it! Many different displays, with incredible detail involved in the scenery and setups. One had been changed to include winter/Christmas decorations, which we enjoyed. One of the best parts was talking to the volunteers running the trains. I would highly recommend asking a lot of questions, as they are generally eager to talk about their hobby. One other recommendation is to bring student ID's for any older/teenage kids in school, as there is a discount for students, but they are picky about making sure you have an ID for high school/college age kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great fun for kids and adults!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have been here twice now. We have taken my son when he was 18 months old and now almost 2 and he loved it both times! My husband and I were very entertained as well! The viewing windows are a little high for him so my husband did need to hold him up to see anything but we didn't mind because that was great to be able to share the experience with him. The cost to get in is reasonable. There is a lot to see but you can still make it through pretty quickly if you have little ones that can't hang out long. What I also love is if you need to leave and come back later in the day you can! That adds tremendous value to the admission cost because with a toddler there are times where we need to leave and try again in a little bit. We will be making this a regular activity whenever we visit the San Diego area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“trains are fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My grandsons love going here. They always seem to see something new. A trip to Balboa park is not complete without a visit to the trains. They love the hands on experience. Pushing buttons is too much fun and too difficult to resist.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAMFORD
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Our Grandson Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our 7 year old grandson picked this museum for his birthday celebration. Located in the basement of one of the buildings in Balboa Park, we weren't sure what to expect. What we found was the world's 2nd largest model train exhibit. This place is huge! More importantly, your grandson had a great time. The "train engineers" even gave him a behind-the-scenes tour. Based on local topographical layouts, the trains bring back memories of a time gone by for the older visitors. Well worth seeing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Model Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Model Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Model Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.