We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am spoiled” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Museum of Man

San Diego Museum of Man
1350 El Prado Street at Sixth Avenue, Balboa Park, San Diego, CA 92101
619 239 2001
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$34*
and up
San Diego City Tour
Ranked #125 of 192 Attractions in San Diego
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The San Diego Museum of Man is your museum. Discover your ancient origins, see our amazing mummies, and explore the life of the Maya. In addition to these core displays everyone loves, we are always presenting new and exciting traveling exhibitions from around the world. These ever-changing offerings highlight diverse experiences and extraordinary artifacts. Make new connections as you experience the breadth of the human experience. It will change the way you think about your world!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Maputo, Mozambique
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“I am spoiled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

by the museum of natural history in nyc. this museum is cute. if you are in the mood, go in. its not bad, just not impressive.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    34
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cool Ancient Exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I'm a big fan of Ancient Egypt and Ancient Maya. The exhibits, although small, are pretty informative.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great museum of anthropology”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Very interesting collection about the history of mankind

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing - 5 minutes on wiki would be better value”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We came here (24/3/12) on recommendation from a "lone" travel guide book under the promise that the museum specialises in Native American artefacts from the American SW

Hugely disappointing. Not worth $12 each we paid. The museum contained a very small section of Native American artefacts, a larger collection of egyptian mummies and a larger collection of plaster casts of mayan monuments, and hominid skeletons. Nothing unique, original or that interesting to be found at the museum and wouldn't recommend.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Museum too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Again, we enjoy the exhibits, the ambiance and the setting. We spend a day walking Balboa park and choose a museum for the visit. M o M is one of our favorites. Give it enough time and make sure you know what is on display so that you see something that you are interested in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Museum of Man also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Museum of Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Museum of Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.