We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Natural History Museum

San Diego Natural History Museum
1788 El Prado, Balboa Park, San Diego, CA 92104 (Balboa Park)
619.232.3821
Website
Improve this listing
Visit San Diego Natural History Museum like an insider
Special Offer
$84*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #129 of 495 things to do in San Diego
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Features fascinating exhibitions and a new giant-screen Dolby digital 3D theater showing films with a focus on the natural world. The Museum’s award-winning exhibit design team creates exhibitions that focus on the unique and biodiverse southern California region. In addition, the Museum hosts several traveling exhibitions each year which teach visitors about our natural world as it is today and as it was in the past.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

There really isn't anything in this museum. The Chocolate exhibit was poor and boring with outrageously over price chocolate for sale at the end, no samples. The top for had landscape photography displayed that emulated Ansel Adams. 3rd floor were animal skulls, mostly small ones. 2nd floor had a few dino skeletons from the area, 1st floor had 2 3D films that were ok and the basement had a bug and spider exhibit.

If we didn't stay for the films the museum would have taken 30 minutes to view.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    61
    50
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love Musems”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We all need to know our History. Otherwise how will you know where your going and who made the path for where you are today. Check it out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibits; pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was my first visit to the museum, so I really wasn't sure what to expect.

The facility itself is quite nice with an open atrium and exhibit areas off to the side. There are certainly a number of displays centered on fossils, dinosaurs, and skeletons/skulls, and they're done pretty well.

The special exhibits "Chocolate" and "On the Trail of Ansel Adams" were the most interesting to me.

"Chocolate" traced the origins and history of chocolate in a room with a fresh chocolate smell being piped in somehow. Definitely hit your nose (in a good way).

"On the Trail of Ansel Adams" was a black-and-white photography exhibit of current landscape photographers shooting in the style of Adams. There were some very interesting works displayed (photography buff here). The more appropriate venue for them may have been the Museum of Photographic Art across the street.

As a San Diego County resident, I took advantage of the Residents' Free Tuesdays and got into the museum for free. I'm not sure that the full $17 adult admission price is warranted given the content, so that's the reason I'm only rating 3 stars.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Was expecting more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was truly expecting more when we went and visited the Natural History Museum. The temporary exhibit was the best exhibit in the whole place. The permanent exhibits could be updated. We saw a movie about animals in the baja area, which was really good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“"The Horse" Was Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited the San Diego Natural History Museum specifically to view a current exhibit titled "The Horse". This exhibit occupies the entire lower floor of the museum building and is beautifully presented. There was no extra charge for viewing the exhibit once one had paid the regular museum admission.

While "The Horse" is of special interest to "horsey people", it should be interesting to a broader segment of the public as it describes in vivid detail man's development of domestic animals and how our interaction with domesticated animals has influenced our cultural and development.

The museum has, of course, many other exhibits. A current favorite is "Chocolate"...the history and production of my favorite food!

We were disappointed that one floor of the museum was closed for some kind of maintenance, but I suppose that is to be expected once in a while.

There is a snack bar on site but it is only open on weekends. No matter, the museum is located in San Diego's Balboa Park where there are a number of restaurants and snack offerings.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Natural History Museum also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Natural History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Natural History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.