We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6440 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #204 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    21
    14
    25
See reviews for
39
15
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this dump for 4 days it was a nightmare, just kept getting worse. When I turned on the shower the head flew off, the lights in the bathroom didn't work, the tv had no volume only 3 channels were showing, no wifi. When I complained to the Indian girl about this she was very nasty I felt like reaching over the counter and slapping her. I asked for a manager but the manger was not around I asked the Indian girl when will the manager be available she told me she don't know. What kind of business is that? I finally got my room changed after 2 days but it was the same problem. I had to stay in hell for 4 days. Trust me you don't wanna stay here.. About their breakfast I don't know I would not eat from a place like this..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojosdsu, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Samantha,

I'm concerned about the experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention. As you are aware that we are remodelling our hotel and few things are out of our control.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

From May 2013 our new rooms shall be ready for rental hence then onwards their should not be any issues. Once again accept my apology

Sincerely,

NITIN MODY (GM).


Howard Johnson University Inn
6440, El Cajon Blvd.
San Diago CA 92115
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was chosen for a few reasons and one imparticular was for the continental breakfast which the others we've stayed at have. It was a business trip in which the workday started early so the breakfast was needed and great that it was included in the room rate. It was not a very good one since it only had cold cereal, one type of danish and a broken orange juice machine. Not even coffee was there, that was only in the room. This was a big inconvenience and incurred more meal cost for the company. Also, the water was turned off much longer than the five minutes we were told it would be which delayed our shower and bed times. One thing more, the television did not have a clear picture and kept going in and out. Will unfortunately not be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojosdsu, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Michael,

On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were
to receive your kind words of praise.

We apologize for anything beyond your expectation was not taken care.

Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding.
Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very
best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our
staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes
that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services
we provide.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

NITIN MODY (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Island Waters, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A friend and I stayed here after not researching which college this was near - we were hoping to be near La Jolla. But we had a car, and were happy to drive the 20 minutes to La Jolla. We were only here the one night.

The carpet was extremely dirty - we got black feet from walking across the floor just once. Ended up wearing flip flops the rest of the time we were in the room, as well as in the shower which also looked unclean.

The room had a very musty smell, like stale cigarettes, even though there was a non-smoking sign on the door. We could also smell the smoke of others wafting in through the airconditioner.

Attempted to use the pool just to cool off, but had a staff member rush over and begin scooping leaves. Made me feel uneasy so I left literally after a couple of minutes.

In hindsight, I wish we had researched a little more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowardJohnsonSDSU, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please except our sincere apology for the inconvenience.

Thanking you

GRM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Address: 6440 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Remodeled Rooms with Flat Screen LED TV.Walking distance to SDSU (San Diego State University), a block away from major shopping center and restaurants & bars. Very easy access to I-8 highway and very convenient location. 24 hour front desk, free Continental Breakfast & Wifi in all rooms and a large swimming pool and guest laundry facility available. Free Bus and Truck Parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.