We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #50 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NYC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I requested an early check in and late check out as a gold ambassador. Sadly upon arrival I was told it would be about an hour which stretched into over 2 hours and I had to call the front desk, contrary to their promise to call me. I was told my room was still not ready and therefore opted for a room facing pet I park. Once settled the room was immaculate! Super sized shower and pristine clean.the bed was super comfy!
My only concern was the front desk-staff rather impersonal, under staffed, no elite line.
I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    378
    90
    28
    27
See reviews for
146
491
94
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I really was impressed with the customer service here. From the speed of having our luggage removed from our car to picking it up when we were done was classic. The rooms were very nice clean and new looking and feeling there was nothing that felt old about the place. If I had one thing it is that there was only 1 Kurig pod of regular caffeinated coffee in the room. So if more than 1 person needs morning coffee you are going to have to ask for more. And loves the lounge on the 9 floor roof!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Hotel Indigo for business. It is a clean, modern facility. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi and TV both worked well.

I would have given this hotel 4.5 stars if that were a permitted rating, but I rounded up because of small things like a newspaper at my door every morning and the hotel bringing me a fridge to my room at no charge (note that a fridge is not standard).

My only small complaints are that I had a view of absolutely nothing and that it was a longer walk than I had initially thought to the convention center (note that the hotel is not actually in the Gaslamp Quarter but rather a couple of blocks to the east).

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Rooms trendy and comfortable. It is close to restaurants and baseball park. I like that they are very green and room reflected this. Also, they allow dogs, so I was liking the fact that two dogs got into the elevator and rode with their owners to the lobby. I did not eat here, just stayed one night. Very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

great hotel for dog lovers. Located in the center of downtown close to everything. Rooms are retro kitsch. service was excellent. these employees seem to like where they work. we recommend highly.. hotel rooftop bar is really cool - bring your pet and mingle with others pet lovers.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Indigo is an indie upscale hotel next to the Gaslight Qtr in downtown. It is an average hotel with one BIG negative and one SMALL negative

The food was..how do you say... pretentious. Fancy names for ordinary food. (i.e. Lettuce is arugula - guess they are trying to justify their rates). Why do ordinary restaurants try to make a silk purse out of a sow's ear these days is beyond me - just provide good food with names that make sense and do not need a maitre'd to interpret. If you have to ask the waiter what it is then the place has a lousy menu - the Indigo has a lousy menu.

The hotel management in their inconsiderate stupidity allows guests to have as many dogs in their rooms as they like and the staff gives no consideration to other guests when allocating the rooms. You risk being surrounded by those %^&$* barking dogs day and night - one starts barking and you suddenly have a cacophony of barking. I am a dog lover and have owned many dogs but I would never travel and hotel my dogs - that is what 'doggie hotels' are for (AKA kennel). Only self-centric, insecure, mentally challenged people travel with a litter of dogs. Hotel management should review their policy and ensure that dogs are only allowed in one area on one floor OR not at all. Never again at this hotel - never!!!

If you like barking then by all means stay there - if not then find another hotel that cares about ALL of their guests and does not charge you hundreds to listen to the noise

The 5-stars this place got is undeserved. Give me a Hilton any day

Room Tip: Demand that you be placed in a room with no dogs in the wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed this hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The staff are really very nice and helpful. We were there on one of the view rainy days and when we asked the front desk if they had umbrellas, we were told they don't, but Ellen on the desk offered us hers. We really needed it. I didn't eat in the hotel so I don't know how the food is.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#14 Business Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.