We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Clean - Staff Could have been More Helpful & Attentive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #49 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Riverside, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice & Clean - Staff Could have been More Helpful & Attentive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice hotel, when I stayed we Valet as there were no other available options I think it was like $30 for the nite. The pull up valet is very limited space and kinda congested.

The lobby was very well decorated. We came in to town to attend a show at Sleep Train. We were in a big hurry to drop off our bags and change as the weather was bad and we still had to commute from the hotel to Chula Vista. When we got to the reception, we waited behind one guest and when it was our turn to go up to her another guest approached the counter and started to ask questions about directions or something and the receptionist started helping him, I had to say "hey we're next, if he wants help he can wait in line" she apologized but still found it unpleasant that I had to speak up, she could have told that guest she will be with him in a few minutes after she checked us in.

The rooms were very nice and the view was nice, we were facing West and could see pretty well into the Marina. Overall I don't know if I would stay here again, maybe if I was in a pinch and needed a room next to Petco for a game or something.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    371
    88
    27
    27
See reviews for
140
486
92
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was my third time since my husband and I go every year to visit my son who lives in San Diego. We kept going back because it was always a good experience . This time not so. On the second night, on our bedspread I found what appeared to be streaks of blood. I quietly told the maid and it was changed. Most people claim the first thing they do when they get in a hotel room, they take the comforter off the bed because they are not washed as frequently as the sheets. After this, the bed started smelling like my dogs bed at home. I know it is a pet friendly hotel, but enough is enough for me. Staff is nice, but this will be my last time there.

Room Tip: Check out frequency of pets in the room?
See more room tips
Green Features: Yes that was good, but wash comforters regularly. Use environmentally friendly detergent
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First the good.

The people who work at the hotel are very friendly. Good selection of TV stations. Hotel is kept clean and the rooms are reasonable well pointed. Breakfast menu is just OK but serviceable.

The not so good.

The coffee maker in our room did not work starting with day two. (We were there six days.) Each day I asked that is be repaired and each day they assured me it would be fixed and each day they did not fix the problem.

One day we had a 12:30 appointment and decided to have an early lunch. Called room service at 11:45 and they would not accept my order before noon. (Their start time.) We then said we would take a wrap from the all day menu. They said they wraps had gotten so old they tossed them out. We were obviously disappointed they would not budge by 15 minutes to meet our needs.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spent 5 nights at the Indigo for a combo of work and pleasure. There was a convention in town and I was initially disappointed that I could not stay near the harbor but was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The staff is very pleasant and its conveniently located near restaurants and a short can ride from many attractions. The only negative was the price of the restaurant food. But overall I was very satisfied.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Front desk service was stellar-Meg checked us in early which allowed us to get out and enjoy our vacation. Renee was also very helpful. Only reason why I didn't give five stars is because the room aggravated my allergies with some sort of reaction to the cleaning supplies.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
JMZ325,

Thank you for writing such lovely feedback about your staff and the Front Office staff! I will definitely pass on your comments to both Megan and Renee – they are such gems to have! I am so sorry that you experienced allergy issues! Next time you stay with us, be sure to let us know about your previous experience so we can try a different method of cleaning for your room.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really! We either had to pay $50 for some service to park our car or for us to park at the meter, get up at 6 am to change parking spots. We slept in and didn't move. We didn't get a ticket. I gave the hotel 3 stars to thank the city of San Diego for not ticketing us.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in a 18-day trip through the coast of California, and were happily surprised with the hotel. Yes, the parking is a freaking steal, but after a 4 hour drive, we didn't care. The hotel is new, the room was spacious, the shower was marvellous, and the hotel is pet friendly. We didn't have our dogs with us, but seeing them in the hotel made me happier!
Totally recommend, just be prepare to pay US$ 41 for the parking, or try some place else.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelIndigoSanDiego, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Taisa Cristina C,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your California Coast journey! It is wonderful to hear that the hotel was accommodating! Next time bring the four-legged friends!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 509 9th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#13 Business Hotel in San Diego
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#55 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Indigo! From the moment you enter, you will be invited with the soothing sounds of the floor to ceiling water wall and captivated by locally photographed wall murals. Our refreshingly local Hotel Indigo staff is here to show you just what makes San Diego ‘America’s Finest City.’ Before heading out, we invite you to enjoy an evening cocktail on our Level 9 Rooftop Bar. Sit by the fire pit or reflective pool and enjoy breathtaking views of downtown San Diego and PETCO Park. Unwind with colleagues or meet new friends before exploring all the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer! Prepare for a calming nights sleep with the textures and warm earth-tones that make you forget that you are in a hotel. The iHome allows you to awaken with your favorite music while you refresh in the glass enclosed spa shower.You are invited to sit streetside in our open air Table 509 Bar and Kitchen and feel the energy and vibrance of downtown San Diego while enjoying a fresh cup of locally brewed Café Moto coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Diego
San Diego Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.